Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This tasty recipe left me licking my fingers after I finally placed the pie in the oven. The included crust recipe is a little bland, but this pie is otherwise a great treat. The almond extract makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I made this last weekend to take to a friend's home for Sunday dinner. This was the first time I'd made cherry pie and was a little nervous that it was going to turn out too sweet. After cooking the cherries with the cornstarch and sugar I tasted it. Sure enough the fruit I was using was sweet especially for sour cherries. I ended up adding 2 Tbls of lemon juice to help break up the sweetness, which worked out perfectly. Next time I'll check the sweetness of the fruit before adding sugar. Also I didn't have any almond extract on hand so I used vanilla and it was a good combo. Everyone loved the pie and I'll definitely use this recipe again. Thank you Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This wonderful pie filling recipe has solved my problem with runny cherries without a pasty or custardy filling. I used my own crust instead. I can see why it won first place. And oh so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This pie was up against my boyfirends moms cherry pie. He said this one was better. Everything was so good. I have made it over and over again. Very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I'm not a fan of cherry pie myself, but even I enjoyed this recipe. I used frozen "dark sweet" cherries and the "Pie Crust" recipe from this site. My only problem was that I couldn't get the cherry mixture to come to a boil. Finally, after about 25 minutes of trying, it started to really thicken up so I went ahead and finished the recipe without it ever actually boiling. This didn't seem to affect anything though, and everyone who tried it liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I tried this recipe twice. The first time through, I followed the recipe to a "T" and the pie was perfect! The second time through, I used all the same amounts and did everything the same, EXCEPT I didn't cook the cherries and sugar and cornstarch. I mixed them all together in a bowl and let them macerate for a few minutes, then placed them in the crust and baked. The cherries held together better this way and the juices still made a nice gel to hold it all together. I'd suggeset cooking the pie a little longer, though, if you do it this way, because you aren't starting with a hot filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This is the best cherry pie ever!! The recipe is very easy and the pie is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This pie is a snap to make...and has turned out beautifully each time I've made it. The filling is particularly nice: not too sweet and just thick enough...and the almond extract is a really nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Finally--a recipe for a cherry-pie filling that actually gels! I can't describe how many cherry pies I've made that were too runny or too dry. This recipe also works fine with sweet cherries. Thanks very much, Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
What a great cherry pie recipe! I admit I didn't use the crust; I make mine with a combination of butter and shortening. The filling was excellent. Not too sweet, just enough to offset the tartness of the cherries, and thick enough not to run all over the place. A funny thing, though: If you find yourself in a position like me where you only have a pound of cherries (my friend picked me a tiny bit over a pound from the tree in her yard), halve the recipe. I halved it and made the pie in a regular old 2 cup Fiestaware soup bowl. (The shallow one that's about 5 or 6 inches across.) I made enough crust for a one-crust 9-inch pie, cut the bottom crust out of it, then made a lattice top with the leftover pie crust dough. I always use an earthenware pie plate anyway, so I thought this would work and it did. Perfect size! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States