Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
The only thing I changed was the sugar amount which is just a personal preference. My husband is Russian and he and all our Russian guests eat sour cherries off the tree and think of their childhood. I knew I could get away with much less sugar for this particular audience. It was devoured, plates scraped, seconds had. Success. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Mother of God. This is the best cherry pie filling I have ever tasted. I picked wild cherries and followed the recipe exactly. This recipe is staying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Perfect pie without a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
was a husband pleasure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Love the filling recipe, but prefer to use the flaky and tasty pastry recipe posted on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janette
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I tried this and it was wonderful just as it is written! I made two ...... Both gone 2.5 days!!! Didn't look as good as I wished cause .... I ran out of pastry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
*GREAT* recipe!! I realized I didn't have enough cherries, but my roommate had some extra frozen berries so for the last about 1/4 cup we used that. It overflowed a bit in the oven but I think that's because I didn't seal it properly. (Thankfully I was making something on a baking tray underneath with the leftover pie crust and it didn't coat the bottom of the oven!) My roommate made some fresh whipped cream with some leftover whipping cream we had.. It was marvelous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe. The first time I made it I cooked the filling on the stove as the recipe directs and it was great. The second time I tried not cooking the filling prior to adding it to the crust as a couple of other reviewers suggested, but it didn't work for me at all. It turned out like a big soupy mess. Will definitely cook the filling from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The filling is five stars for sure, but pass on the pie crust. Instead, surround this delicious cherry filling with the following pie crust recipe also from this site: Easy Homemade Pie Crust by Chef John. It is THE best pie crust you will every make and will complement this scrumptious cherry pie filling beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this pie filling exactly as written, except I used my own crust. This pie was a hit, gone in seconds! I used 3 bags of frozen cherries because fresh we're not in season. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States