Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
was a husband pleasure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Love the filling recipe, but prefer to use the flaky and tasty pastry recipe posted on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janette
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I tried this and it was wonderful just as it is written! I made two ...... Both gone 2.5 days!!! Didn't look as good as I wished cause .... I ran out of pastry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
*GREAT* recipe!! I realized I didn't have enough cherries, but my roommate had some extra frozen berries so for the last about 1/4 cup we used that. It overflowed a bit in the oven but I think that's because I didn't seal it properly. (Thankfully I was making something on a baking tray underneath with the leftover pie crust and it didn't coat the bottom of the oven!) My roommate made some fresh whipped cream with some leftover whipping cream we had.. It was marvelous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe. The first time I made it I cooked the filling on the stove as the recipe directs and it was great. The second time I tried not cooking the filling prior to adding it to the crust as a couple of other reviewers suggested, but it didn't work for me at all. It turned out like a big soupy mess. Will definitely cook the filling from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The filling is five stars for sure, but pass on the pie crust. Instead, surround this delicious cherry filling with the following pie crust recipe also from this site: Easy Homemade Pie Crust by Chef John. It is THE best pie crust you will every make and will complement this scrumptious cherry pie filling beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this pie filling exactly as written, except I used my own crust. This pie was a hit, gone in seconds! I used 3 bags of frozen cherries because fresh we're not in season. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was our first cherry pie we have ever made, and we were overall very pleased. We used a different pie crust recipe, but it was very similar to the one above. The key is to make sure your butter or shortening and water are very cold and make sure you add the water a table spoon or two at a time, and stop adding the water when your dough is coming together. The cherry filling was delicious. I gave it plenty of time to simmer and cool on the stove and it was not too runny at all. We used frozen tart cherries because that is all we could find in the grocery store, drained some of the juice, and they worked perfectly. They ended up tasting very similar to canned cherries but I would like to think they were superior. The only downside to this recipe was the cost, the frozen cherries for one pie were about $8, but it was worth doing homemade in the end and we are going to try make it with fresh cherries when they are in season and try it again. But overall, very good and very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Perfect, one of the best pies I have made. Loved Loved Loved it. I used canned tart cherries as fresh cherries are out of season and besides that A LOT of work. Canned cherries work good for me and this is the perfect recipe. I drained the cherries and then followed the recipe from there on out. This will be a staple for holiday meals at our house as quite honestly that is the only time I usually make pie. My husbands favorite pie is cherry and i have been looking for a good recipe and this fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
What can i use instead of shortening? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States