Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Didn't use the crust due to reviews & didn't think the almond was necessary. I used fresh sweet cherries, so cut sugar to about 3/4 cup. The mix set up nicely, filled my pie pan & tasted delish once cooled. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wasn't sure how many cherries made 2 lbs., so used what I had which was 8 cups after they were pitted and sliced - turned out great with no other change to filling recipe. Based upon other reviews I did not make the crust, used frozen deep-dish pie shells, one for top and one for bottom. My husband, who is not a cherry pie fan, said it was the perfect blend of sweet and tart. Thank you Beth for a great filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayucos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
The recipe for the filling was perfect. We even used the same one for a peach pie filling. We didn't make this crust recipe after reading the other reviews, but we made Grandma Ruth's from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
****DO NOT make this crust******* The filling is superb, and deserves 5 stars. But the crust is just awful, and deserves not only a '1' star, but negative -5 stars, if that were possible. It is impossible to work with and makes what is usually (for me at least) a joy to bake pies a very, very frustrating experience. Because I had no more crisco or even butter, and not enough time before my 4th of July bbq to make another crust, I ended up actually mashing the darn dough that crumbled to the touch directly INTO the pie pan, and doing a crumble on top. It in turn completely crumbled when served. The cherry filling was delicious. But it wasn't 'Pie', as it had no form whatsoever. I think the submitter made a mistake in writing the recipe or something, because there is no way the pie in that picture could have been made with a workable crust. So frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good pie. The next time I make it I will omit the almond extract. Although it isn't much it does give it a slight almond taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used premade Pillsbury pie crust. My husband told me after I made it that he didn't like cherry pie. But then he tried it. He said it was the best pie he had ever eaten! I think this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
OUTSTANDING! I had recently made an awful cherry pie and was on the hunt for a winning recipe and found this one! It's best to make it a day ahead so that the cherry gel sets well. I cut into it today and the filling stayed in place, not like the other recipe I used where the cherries rolled around like marbles in an ocean of juice. Going based on the other reviews, I made my own crust which is "no fail," so here it is: 10" Two-Crust Pie Pastry 1 cup butter 2-2/3 cups flour 1 tsp salt 10 tablespoons cold water Cut shortening into flour and salt until particles are size of small peas. Add water and toss dough with fork until all flour is moistened. Roll into two balls on floured surface. AWESOME RECIPE AND MY FAMILY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittySerbia
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Wow! Perfect cherry pie! I followed the filling part and found it to be right on in terms of sweetness and thickness. I am lucky in that sour cherries are at their peak right now, so I used one kilo of fresh cherries. I added the almond extract and thought I had made a big mistake; it was so "extract-y" tasting, but luckily, it all combined lovely once it baked and the true sour cherry flavor came through. I used the recipe for "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" from this sight instead of the one listed for this recipe (personal preference) and even made a lattice top! It was beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. I am truly happy with this recipe and it made my 11-year old super happy on his last day of school before summer break! Thank you, Kenan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I've tried this twice, once as written, and once just combining the sugar, cornstarch, and cherries and not cooking them before baking. BIG mistake. The liquid didn't gel at all, so I poured out the filling and cooked again! Delicious--just be sure and cook the filling before adding to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Yum! I used approximately five cups of Oregon brand red tart cherries in water (drained before using, of course), ¾ c. sugar, and added 1 t. lemon juice, ¼ t. salt and a dash of cinnamon along with the butter. I baked it for 45 minutes and used the Ruth’s Grandma’s Pie Crust recipe from this site. I made this pie for my dad’s birthday and will be making it again for my fiancé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States