Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This pie was great, but I was disappointed because I couldn't find any sour cherries. I used sweet red cherries and left out some of the sugar. Everybody loved it, but I want to make it with sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was my first attempt at a cherry pie, ad I will never use another recipe again! So easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I didn't have almond extract so I used brandy extract and it was great. Pitted fresh bing cherries (won't work that hard again). Great Pie!!! Also, this is one of the easiest crusts I'v ever made but I'd recommend a little more salt, that's it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Didn't use the crust due to reviews & didn't think the almond was necessary. I used fresh sweet cherries, so cut sugar to about 3/4 cup. The mix set up nicely, filled my pie pan & tasted delish once cooled. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wasn't sure how many cherries made 2 lbs., so used what I had which was 8 cups after they were pitted and sliced - turned out great with no other change to filling recipe. Based upon other reviews I did not make the crust, used frozen deep-dish pie shells, one for top and one for bottom. My husband, who is not a cherry pie fan, said it was the perfect blend of sweet and tart. Thank you Beth for a great filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayucos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
The recipe for the filling was perfect. We even used the same one for a peach pie filling. We didn't make this crust recipe after reading the other reviews, but we made Grandma Ruth's from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
****DO NOT make this crust******* The filling is superb, and deserves 5 stars. But the crust is just awful, and deserves not only a '1' star, but negative -5 stars, if that were possible. It is impossible to work with and makes what is usually (for me at least) a joy to bake pies a very, very frustrating experience. Because I had no more crisco or even butter, and not enough time before my 4th of July bbq to make another crust, I ended up actually mashing the darn dough that crumbled to the touch directly INTO the pie pan, and doing a crumble on top. It in turn completely crumbled when served. The cherry filling was delicious. But it wasn't 'Pie', as it had no form whatsoever. I think the submitter made a mistake in writing the recipe or something, because there is no way the pie in that picture could have been made with a workable crust. So frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good pie. The next time I make it I will omit the almond extract. Although it isn't much it does give it a slight almond taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used premade Pillsbury pie crust. My husband told me after I made it that he didn't like cherry pie. But then he tried it. He said it was the best pie he had ever eaten! I think this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
OUTSTANDING! I had recently made an awful cherry pie and was on the hunt for a winning recipe and found this one! It's best to make it a day ahead so that the cherry gel sets well. I cut into it today and the filling stayed in place, not like the other recipe I used where the cherries rolled around like marbles in an ocean of juice. Going based on the other reviews, I made my own crust which is "no fail," so here it is: 10" Two-Crust Pie Pastry 1 cup butter 2-2/3 cups flour 1 tsp salt 10 tablespoons cold water Cut shortening into flour and salt until particles are size of small peas. Add water and toss dough with fork until all flour is moistened. Roll into two balls on floured surface. AWESOME RECIPE AND MY FAMILY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States