Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I think this pie filling was OK. I like sweet taste but not too sweet. It is better to adjust the sugar to taste when adding it to the cherries. I will try it again but will adjust the sugar better and review it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I use my own pie crust recipe but the cherry filling recipe for this is great. I did make some alterations to it as other have. I used 2-1 lb. bags of frozen cherries and used a little extra cornstarch just as another reviewer suggested. However, I took out about a third of the sugar. It was a little sweet for my family's taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This cherry pie recipe turned out awesome! I used store bought pie crust because I just never have good luck making pie dough. I picked the cherries from the orchard my grandmother planted. I omitted the butter (for diet reasons) and I completely forgot the almond extract. My 88 year old Dad said it was the best cherry pie ever and he said it was even better than his Aunt Margret's and she made everything from scratch including grinding the flour and rendering lard. So I feel like a pie-making champ because Dad loved the pie. I give credit to the fresh-from-the-farm pie cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is the only cherry pie recipe I use. It works great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My daughters and I took a trip to Detroit's Eastern Market today. We bought some fresh tart cherries, and when we got home, we decided to try this cherry pie recipe. It turned out great - delicious and beautiful! We used a different crust recipe (I've always had good luck with the recipe that came with my Pampered Chef stoneware pie plate), but we didn't make any changes to the filling. It was time-consuming, mostly because we had to pit all the cherries, and it took a long time for the cherry mixture to boil, but it was worth it. This recipe is a keeper! (Next time, we may try it with a crumb topping instead of the lattice crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Novaleigh
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
What a great recipe! It is the very first time I had ever baked a pie, and it turned out perfectly! The only thing I did differently was add a tiny pinch of Chinese 5 spice to add a bit of "mystery ingredient". Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved it and so did my fiancé's family. This was the first time making a cherry pie. Due to the other recommendations here I used another pie crust. The other modifications I did was use fresh dark sweet cherries and it was not too sweet. I used an entire bag from the produce section which was roughly 3 cups. It could have used more but it was the perfect filling to crust ratio for me. It also took longer in the oven to cook, roughly 15-20 mins more for my oven. Would definitely make again! Great summer pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
The only thing I changed was the sugar amount which is just a personal preference. My husband is Russian and he and all our Russian guests eat sour cherries off the tree and think of their childhood. I knew I could get away with much less sugar for this particular audience. It was devoured, plates scraped, seconds had. Success. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Mother of God. This is the best cherry pie filling I have ever tasted. I picked wild cherries and followed the recipe exactly. This recipe is staying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Perfect pie without a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States