Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Stephanie Balaun
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
It was a good pie. I was hoping it would be THE best. I used 5 cups of frozen cherries with the last cup being added after the cooking process. Right before I covered the pie with the top crust, I added an additional T. of butter. I didn't use this crust recipe because I have a go to recipe that everyone says is the best they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is my go-to cherry pie recipe. I don't always make the crust, but this filling can't be beat. It always turns out with the best taste and consistency. I also make the filling by itself to use on mini cheesecakes or on top of ice cream. It is just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe can easily be made sugar-free but substituting Splenda for baking in place of the sugar. The filling recipe is very good and easy to make. I bought frozen sweet cherries as I couldn't find pitted sour cherries at the store. Followed the filling recipe exactly otherwise - BUT - you will need WAAAAAAAY more cherries than 2 cups. I put in 4 cups and it didn't fill up a small pie pan. I'd suggest at least 6 cups of cherries to start. I used the Pillsbury roll out pie crust and it was delicious. Hubby had 2 pieces back to back which is a good sign. I gave the recipe only 4 stars as I think the amount of cherries needs a major adjustment. Otherwise great for my first attempt at cherry pie. And for any diabetics, make this with Splenda and enjoy - you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Absolutely Delicious. However, I did not use the pie crust provided...I utlized the Perfect Pie Crust Recipe....Perfect ! Also, I didn't think 2 cups of cherries were enough, so I added another 2/3 cup...The consistency was perfect...not runny at all...Almond Flavoring was an added bonus and would have never thought of it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Bentley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanne McCombie Anderson
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Stuck to the recipe and its turned out splendid! For a first time pie maker that is pretty awesome! And it made my hubby's Valentine's Day! Next time I'll add a little splash of fancy, egg wash, powdered sugar, lattice top..who knows?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne McCombie Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I've never been a fan of cherry pie. This one was fabulous though. I couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JULI42298
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I thought this was really good, better than store bought; too bad my family didn't agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
FANTASTIC! I used 3 cans of Oregan red tart cherries (drained). Also... The light almond flavor is absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious! I am not a big fan of cherry pie, but made this for my family who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I added 3 cans instead of two and it turned out great. Only change, next time I will add some sugar to the dough. It was kind of bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessT

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States