Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I didn't have enough tart cherries to make this pie, so (at my farmer's market farmer's suggestion), used a 3:1 ration of cherries to strawberries. You could not tell the difference; the pie was outstanding! I cheated and used pastry from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. I've never made, or eaten, a better cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I've never made cherry pie before, and this one turned out pretty good. I used about 2 lbs of cherries, so I don't think the suggested amount is enough. Also, I decreased the amount of almond extract because I know it has a tendency to be overwhelming. It adds an interesting flavor that sets it apart from other pies, but I might try leaving it out next time so that the flavor of the cherries can shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEFFY4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this pie. After boiling the cherries for 4 or 5 minutes, the sauce still hadn't thickened, so I poured some of the juice off and added 2 more teaspoons of cornstarch. After another 7 or 8 minutes it finally started to thicken. The final baked product was delicious - very flaky crust (though I recommend doing it with a pastry cutter rather than a mixer, as it's a very sticky dough) and perfect sweetness of the filling. I think it'll be even better with a side of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
YUM YUM YUM!! I will use this recipe again and again. I love the flavor of the almond extract. Everyone who had a slice loved it....sure beats canned cherry pie filling (yuck).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I used 3 (14oz.) cans of tart cherries in water. Used 1 more tsp. of cornstarch and added vanilla instead of almond and a dash of cinnamon. The filling was to die for!! Pie looks fantastic and cannot wait to dig in. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
The perfect cherry pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was definitely delicious, but did not set up very well. Would have liked it to be less runny, don't know if I should have cooked it the day before so it had more time to set up or what. Made my own crust and used sweet cherries cuz I love them and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made my own crust recipe, but followed the filling recipe exactly. Used frozen dark bing cherries from Door County Wisconsin. Turned out great! Made it for Father's day and got good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
this was the first pie i've ever attempted! it was a smashing success! i followed the directions exactly and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I gave this 4 stars only because the ingredients need to be altered, as said in other posts. I baked this last night and it was soooo yummy. However, 2 cups of cherries would not have been enough filling. I used 4 cups of fresh sweet pitted cherries, and only 1 cup of sugar with all the other filling ingredients remaining the same. The crust was delish! I thought I had a good pie crust, but this one beats it, hands down! Very flaky, even the bottom crust remained flaky with the gooey filling, which is sometimes a hard thing to pull off. Also, I was a little concerned about the crust when I first made it because it was so soft and sticky, so I added a good bit of flour to the pastry sheet I rolled it out on to prevent sticking. Came out perfect! I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States