Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This cherry pie is 10 stars!!!! I used butter, the crust was perfect!!! I used 4 cups of cherries, the rest was as per the recipe. I will bake this pie again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gennie
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by ashleycooks
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
In my Parents back yard we have a sour cherry tree and this year, to everyone's surprise, the birds didn't eat them. So my children and I picked a grand total of 12 cups of cherries! We did two different batches of pies, baking 2 each time. the first time we did 6 cups of cherries and 3 1/2 cups of sugar. We decided that it was two much sugar and only added 3 cups in the second Bach. The other thing we changed is that we used vanilla instead of almond the second time. Both batches were great! I hope you enjoy this summertime recipe, it was a lot of fun for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This cherry pie was sooooo good. My aunt lives in kelowna, so she sent us alot of fresh cherries. I pitted them all and made this pie...my first time making cherry pie and it was fantastic. I used three cups of cherries instead of two and because I didn't have almond extract I used vanilla instead. I will be making this one again for sure in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly only I used refrigerated pillsbury pie crust & everyone loved it. They never even asked about the crust (assuming it was my usual home-made crust). I used fresh sour cherries because I believe that is one thing you can't cheat on! I did a lattice top crust & had beauitful oozing juices!! This will be my keeper, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy2three

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a wonderful cherry pie recipe! The only changes i made were adding more cherries (about 3 cups, and could have added more!), vanilla extract instead of almond because its what i had on hand, and i always use lard in my pie crusts. My husband has been begging me to make it again! Thanks Beth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
YUM! This came out perfect! I added about 1/4 cup of flour to the dough because I live in Denver and it turned out very flaky and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I think this recipe should call for a LOT more cherries and the sauce was very runny on mine... I didn't like the crust too much either because it had the texture of cake. Might have just been something I did wrong though, maybe I overworked the dough, and didn't let the sauce simmer long enough...I think I'll try a different recipe though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tmillard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I didn't have enough tart cherries to make this pie, so (at my farmer's market farmer's suggestion), used a 3:1 ration of cherries to strawberries. You could not tell the difference; the pie was outstanding! I cheated and used pastry from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. I've never made, or eaten, a better cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I've never made cherry pie before, and this one turned out pretty good. I used about 2 lbs of cherries, so I don't think the suggested amount is enough. Also, I decreased the amount of almond extract because I know it has a tendency to be overwhelming. It adds an interesting flavor that sets it apart from other pies, but I might try leaving it out next time so that the flavor of the cherries can shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEFFY4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this pie. After boiling the cherries for 4 or 5 minutes, the sauce still hadn't thickened, so I poured some of the juice off and added 2 more teaspoons of cornstarch. After another 7 or 8 minutes it finally started to thicken. The final baked product was delicious - very flaky crust (though I recommend doing it with a pastry cutter rather than a mixer, as it's a very sticky dough) and perfect sweetness of the filling. I think it'll be even better with a side of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States