Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
"Simple things are best" holds true with this cherry pie. Simple enough to easily memorize the recipe, but the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I had to alter the indications a bit in order to fill my deep-dish (9-inch) pie plate. It took 3 lbs of cherries & about 5 t more cornstarch. I doubled the butter and quadrupled the almond extract (glad I did.) Also, I used a pie crust I knew to be good already (Flaky & Tasty Pastry from this site) and didn't have to bake longer than 50 minutes, though this pie took a LONG time to set. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Mine didn't quite come out right (the filling was a little thick), but I don't make a lot of pies! Practice makes perfect, however my family enjoyed the fact that I made it from scratch! I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was my first ever cherry pie from scratch, I made the dough and all. I loved this pie, I ended up using frozen sweet cherries as that was all I could find. It wasn't as tart because of the cherries I used, but I absolutely loved the flavor with the almond extract. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Excellent pie! Very, very good. I recomend making the crust. The crust is so delicous, crispy and it tastes so much better than store bought. My husband said that it tastes like his grandma's cherry pie, and she was an expert baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie was gone before I even got a taste! It was the ONLY dessert at thanksgiving that totally disappeared. I used my own crust recipe but followed the filling exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was very good. I dont really care for Cherry pie but I made this for my husband and he loved it so i gave it a try and it was really good! WIll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbinsgirl01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I have made this recipe twice, and since I couldn't find sour cherries at my local grocery store, I had to settle for regular cherries. The result was cloyingly sweet, even the second time when I cut back on the sugar. If you can't find sour cherries, just stick to the canned cherry pie filling, or go with a different kind of fruit pie altogether. The reason for my low rating isn't because my pies tasted too sweet (my fault, I know), but because the process of stirring the cherries in with the sugar and water yielded very odd results: the second time, even after stirring constantly, the cherries turned as blue as blueberries. It was unappetizing looking, and ended up just seeming like far too much work when there are so many great pie recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good cherry pie recipe. I could not find tart cherries anywhere for some reason. Used regular cherries and I think that I could have cut the sugar to compensate a bit. Turned out a little too sweet but was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I was hoping this would be the perfect truly homemade cherry pie. The crust was actually pretty good though. It came out of the pan so easily. I wish I would have used it for a different pie though! And, the strange part about that was I realized that I used only half the shortening requested, but it was actually a good mistake! However, the filling was just WAY TOO SWEET! I added vanilla instead of almond extract, which shouldn't affect the sweet factor. And, as sweet as the liquid part was the cheeries seemed to remain completely TART! The recipe called for sour cherries, so I know that was no mistake I made. The contrast however was very unpalateable. I also had to use 4 cups of cherries I tried with 2 by the directions, but the filling would have been way too liquidy just by looking at it. In the end two pieces got partially eaten and the rest got tossed out. I have never tasted a pie that I could not find some aspect of it that I didn't like. I believe if I would have sprinkled sugar or something on top it may have helped with the tartness, but I am not sure?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States