Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I use this recipe every year when our pie cherry tree fills with cherries. I love the addition of almond extract and it always thickens up perfectly. I have never used the pie crust recipe though, since I always use my own. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Amazing. Best contrast of tart and sweet. I did take a shortcut on the crust, and used Trader Joe's frozen pie crust, but I will be attempting the crust next time. Even people who weren't into pie thought it was amazing, and that it hits the cherry pie flavor just right - not too sweet, not too sour. I did use the revised version of this recipe that has more cherries (2 lbs), less sugar, and a bit more cornstarch, which was according to the reviews of others. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
fantastic - made a tart cherry believer out of my husband. keeping on hand for next year's crop. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! It will become a summertime favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Good recipe, but I used 3 cups of cherries and still needed more. I'd go for 4 cups of cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Best cherry pie I've tasted. I picked and pitted 5 cups of cherries and doubled the filling recipe thinking that I would have enough for two pies. I used nearly all 5 cups in my 9.5" pie plate and it didn't seem over stuffed. I baked at 425 for 35 minutes, using foil to cover the crust edges for the first half of the baking. I also use lard instead of shortening. Will make again! ...and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My (first) cherry pie and it was perfect! I used the grandma's pie crust, I used butter instead of shortening (which isn't available in The Netherlands). I used 600 grams of fresh cherries, a tin of cherry pie filling and a jar with 160 grams cherries on sirup. Also, I used amaretto liquor, instead of almond essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this pie for my family and it was a great success! They loved it so much that it was nearly all gone 15 min after it came from the oven. I used butter flavored shortening, 7 teaspoons of corn starch and 2 of almond flour, Fresh cherries... And it was just amazing. Will definitely bake this pie again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
i used my own crust recipe. the recipe was fab! i added aome more almond extract than was called for. i finally luv cherry pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States