Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I used refrigerated pie crusts. I changed the 10 teaspoons cornstarch to 3 Tablespoons. The recipe calls for 2 cups cherries. I just used 2 cans, drained, cherries. Easy recipe to keep on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is my favorite pie recipe that I have ever tried. Make sure to use tin foil around the edges and depending on your oven temperature, you'll want to remove it around 30 - 35 mins. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at a cherry pie (or a fruit pie in general), and I made it for my boyfriend who is somewhat of a cherry pie afficionado. He LOVED it!! He said it was just perfect - consistency, flavor, everything. I took some reviewers' suggestions and put in 4 cups of cherries (I had to use frozen pie cherries from Whole Foods since fresh cherries are out of season), and I also put 1 cup of almond flour in the crust. He said the crust was particularly amazing. I'll definitely be making this again, and can't wait to see if it's even better with fresh cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made a gluten free crust for my cherry pie, used 3 jars of Trader Joe's Morello cherries, drained (36 oz of cherries). Cooked the filling and let it cool before adding to my pie shell to bake. Brushed the top crust with cream and sprinkled with turbinado sugar and baked for 1 hour. Then I chilled it to help set the filling even more. Slices came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just made this recipe. It was good, but not the best. I would almost prefer to buy a frozen cherry pie... I used 2 cans of pie fillings, and should have bought one more. I made the crust as well,it was flaky but lacked flavor. I used less sugar (1 cup) which was a good decision. Not a bad pie though, maybe it would have tasted better if I bought sour cherries or fresh cherries instead of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Amazing filling, BUT luckily for me I bought 2 extra cans of cherries at the store. Even with 3 cans, the filling is not enough. You MUST USE at least 4 cans. I didn't realize it until I had already put the filling in that I made, and then had to fold another can while it was in the crust! Next time I will use 5 cans so the pie is actually full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was pretty good! The pie crust was just your basic pie crust, so I used a Pillsbury one instead, but the filling was delicious! I didn't have almond extract so I used vanilla instead. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
What a GREAT tasting pie AND it was super easy. I took the advice of others and changed a few things. I used 3 cans of Oregon Fruit Cherries. I cooked 2 cans and folded in 1. I also used a Pilsbury Pie Crust and it turned out superb. This pie has great flavor. Next time I will NOT cook the cherries in sugar, but I will make a thick sauce from cornstarch, sugar and syrup from 1 cherry can. THEN, I will fold in the cherries and bake it. This will prevent the cherries from becoming mush after the stove top cooking process. I will make this again and hope for 5 stars. If you have fresh cherries as the recipe calls for, this will be picture perfect. I hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made a pie crust with my own recipe, but used this filling, and, following the directions, it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States