Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I have always failed with fruit pies until this one. This is not only the best fruit pie I have made it may just be the best pie in general. I did not add a top. I also used a ready made crust (because I stink at that too). I made the filling, poured it in and folded the edges down slightly.... DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evol
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
First one I've ever made or eaten. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littlerock, California, USA
Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I tried this recipe with a few alterations. I used 8 cups of frozen cherries, 3 Tbsp. quick tapioca, 10 tsp. cornstarch, and 2 cups sugar (prefer pie a little tart), 2 Tbsp. butter, and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. I actually made this a cobbler because I hate a soggy bottom crust, which invariably happens after the pie sits for a while. I buttered a 12 inch square Corning Ware casserole dish, placed the cherry filling in it, and covered it with a crust made from half of the dough (divided dough into 2 balls before chilling). The crust was very easy to blend and roll, and I used a 1-cup Crisco stick (which was not chilled) instead of chilled shortening. This is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I am giving this 5 stars even though I didn't follow all the directions. This was my own fault. I used a pre-made crust, and had 3 cans of cherries, 2 in syrup and 1 in water. (my local store only had one can of water left!) Other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and oh man, it was delicious! The almond extract is a great edition. The only issue I had was that 3 cans of cherries was slightly too much and I had to put a pan underneath to catch some of the juice oozing out of the pie. Next time I will make the recipe exactly (well, maybe I will keep my additional cherries), when I can get my hands on all the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I used refrigerated pie crusts. I changed the 10 teaspoons cornstarch to 3 Tablespoons. The recipe calls for 2 cups cherries. I just used 2 cans, drained, cherries. Easy recipe to keep on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is my favorite pie recipe that I have ever tried. Make sure to use tin foil around the edges and depending on your oven temperature, you'll want to remove it around 30 - 35 mins. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at a cherry pie (or a fruit pie in general), and I made it for my boyfriend who is somewhat of a cherry pie afficionado. He LOVED it!! He said it was just perfect - consistency, flavor, everything. I took some reviewers' suggestions and put in 4 cups of cherries (I had to use frozen pie cherries from Whole Foods since fresh cherries are out of season), and I also put 1 cup of almond flour in the crust. He said the crust was particularly amazing. I'll definitely be making this again, and can't wait to see if it's even better with fresh cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made a gluten free crust for my cherry pie, used 3 jars of Trader Joe's Morello cherries, drained (36 oz of cherries). Cooked the filling and let it cool before adding to my pie shell to bake. Brushed the top crust with cream and sprinkled with turbinado sugar and baked for 1 hour. Then I chilled it to help set the filling even more. Slices came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just made this recipe. It was good, but not the best. I would almost prefer to buy a frozen cherry pie... I used 2 cans of pie fillings, and should have bought one more. I made the crust as well,it was flaky but lacked flavor. I used less sugar (1 cup) which was a good decision. Not a bad pie though, maybe it would have tasted better if I bought sour cherries or fresh cherries instead of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States