Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I wanted to make something different for Thanksgiving, other than my traditional Pumpkin, Apple and Pecan Pies, so after researching recipes, decided on this one. I read a lot of the reviews, and boy were they helpful. I used 3 cans of Oregon Sour cherries, and could have used one more probably...accidentally put in a tablespoon more cornstarch and my 5 year old added a tablespoon more butter, lol, she likes butter...and it turned out fabulous!! I confess, I used a Publix crust, have ZERO counterspace for rolling anything out, lol...For my first from scratch (mostly) Cherry pie, it was a big hit, the first dessert (from a whole bunch) gone, and I had a dozen requests for the recipe! This recipe is foolproof, and is going in my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Loved this! Got the compliment that it was the best cherry pie they ever tasted. Do increase the cherries to about 4 cups and increase the almond to 1tsp. Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving - it was the first to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlandville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This should be two pounds of cherries, not two cups. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very yummy but you definitely need more cherries! I added 5 cups instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is the best cherry pie ever. I mix fresh bing cherries (in season) and canned pie cherries together. People ask for this pie all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Just made this pie and it is AMAZING , thank you, I did use 4 cups cherries (frozen) and added an extra tsp of cornstarch...Will make this again and again, thanks for the great addition to my recipe box..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Every one loved this pie! I made a few changes and used canned country style cherries and put them in a saucepan on medium heat and added a bit of cornstarch. This thickened the sauce a little more, and it turned out great. I also added the almond extract, which was awesome. Everyone was wondering what the little extra was! Didn't use the crust recipe, because I have my own that turns out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The cherry pie filling is superb! It is not overly sweet and the thickness is just right. I will be sticking to this part of the recipe when making other cherry desserts such as crisps, cobblers, and serving it as a topping. As I am not very good with making my own crust/dough, I opted to use store bought stuff this time but perhaps I will try to go the extra step next time around. Similar to the previous reviewer, my first attempt at making a pie crust from this recipe was a bit lacklustre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was my first attempt at baking a pie from scratch. It came out tasting delicious. I have to say that I found making the pie crust super difficult, but I think that is a consequence of my inexperience with pie crusts, not the recipe. Other than the crust, making the filling was easy. I used three 14 ounce cans of tart pitted cherries and that was the appropriate amount. I then made a lattice top for the pie. The flavor of this pie was great and it looked just like a pie you would buy from a baker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States