Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I use this recipe every year when our pie cherry tree fills with cherries. I love the addition of almond extract and it always thickens up perfectly. I have never used the pie crust recipe though, since I always use my own. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Amazing. Best contrast of tart and sweet. I did take a shortcut on the crust, and used Trader Joe's frozen pie crust, but I will be attempting the crust next time. Even people who weren't into pie thought it was amazing, and that it hits the cherry pie flavor just right - not too sweet, not too sour. I did use the revised version of this recipe that has more cherries (2 lbs), less sugar, and a bit more cornstarch, which was according to the reviews of others. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
fantastic - made a tart cherry believer out of my husband. keeping on hand for next year's crop. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! It will become a summertime favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Good recipe, but I used 3 cups of cherries and still needed more. I'd go for 4 cups of cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Best cherry pie I've tasted. I picked and pitted 5 cups of cherries and doubled the filling recipe thinking that I would have enough for two pies. I used nearly all 5 cups in my 9.5" pie plate and it didn't seem over stuffed. I baked at 425 for 35 minutes, using foil to cover the crust edges for the first half of the baking. I also use lard instead of shortening. Will make again! ...and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My (first) cherry pie and it was perfect! I used the grandma's pie crust, I used butter instead of shortening (which isn't available in The Netherlands). I used 600 grams of fresh cherries, a tin of cherry pie filling and a jar with 160 grams cherries on sirup. Also, I used amaretto liquor, instead of almond essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this pie for my family and it was a great success! They loved it so much that it was nearly all gone 15 min after it came from the oven. I used butter flavored shortening, 7 teaspoons of corn starch and 2 of almond flour, Fresh cherries... And it was just amazing. Will definitely bake this pie again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
i used my own crust recipe. the recipe was fab! i added aome more almond extract than was called for. i finally luv cherry pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States