Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This review is just for the pastry, not the filling. I've never had pastry fail so catastrophically. It's not edible--it's nothing but shortening, melted all over the place. It ruined the excellent filling I'd made from another recipe. I've made pastry a thousand times and wish to goodness I'd used ANY other pastry recipe except this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Baldridge
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My first completely from scratch pie, turned out delicious! Probably would pre bake the crust for about 5 minutes before adding the cherries and lattice top but great! I used 4 cups of cherries instead of 2 because of all the recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Baldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Yum! I had some sweet red cherries I wanted to use so I took the seeds out and cut them in half, and followed this recipe exactly from there. YUM! My first cherry pie came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I finally found a cherry pie recipe I loved. My changes...I used 7 cups of cherries. I used 4 cups for the filling mixture and then I folded an additional 3 cups in the filling as it was cooling. I also used sweet, fresh cherries and a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust for time. I added 3 Tsp of butter on top of the filling before adding the top crust and I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top crust before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was the first (berry) pie recipe that I have tried that turned out so successfully! Usually my berry pies end up being so soupy you have to eat it with a spoon but this recipe made my cherry pie turn out so perfect and thick that you could cut out a piece and pick it up and eat it with your hands without making an awful mess! I would recommend this recipe to everyone...especially those who have had the same issues with thickness as me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Liked this cherry pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used my old stand by pie crust, so this review is only for the filling. It was very good. I received a lot of complements on it at our work potluck! Don't worry if your filling does not get thick. Mine did not and turnned out great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very good! I used more cornstarch as I hate sloppy pie...maybe 1 extra tbsp....came out nice and firm but still soft, sweet and DELICIOUS! Will make again for sure, this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was my first lattice top, and I found it surprisingly simple to make. I ended up heating up cherry pie filling and stirring in the almond extract, which I think added another dimension to the pie filling. I never let this cool completely and served slightly warm, which means it was still runny - but I heard no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Has anyone tried to freeze the filling for later use? Does this freeze well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States