Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by templina71
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Finally, the perfect cherry pie! I made 2 for Father's Day. Based on previous reviews I added 1/4 cup of flour(instead of 3 tbs) to one pie and 4 tbs corn starch added to the 2nd pie. We all liked the pie with extra flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Good old-fashioned cherry pie flavor! I love fruit pies that are thickened with flour, such as this one. I used 2 cans of sour cherries, increased the flour to 6 tablespoons and added another 1/2 cup sugar since the cherries were very tart. I added a dash of cinnamon, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. Very good recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
yum!!! this was soooo good! i upped the flour to 1/4 cup and it was perfect, not soupy at all. i didnt have quite 2 1/2 cups cherries so i added a black plum and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
The only modification I made to the recipe was to add 4 tablespoons corn starch to the fruit and sugar mixture before pouring it into the crust. I did this to correct for the excess liquid the previous poster reported. The pie was beautiful! Sweet, tart, and lovely. This is a good recipe for a no nonsense cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This pie was fantastic! I made a homemade crust and did a lattice top which I brushed with egg white and sprinkled with sugar before baking. It was beautiful! I didn't have fresh cherries so I used one bag of frozen tart cherries and one can of tart cherries, both drained. I increased the flour to 1/4 cup and the sugar to 1 cup due to the extra cherries. This was pretty runny while warm but after cooling it set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This pie was very runny. I might have done something wrong, but this pie was more like soup. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Add 1/4-1/2 tsp almond extract. Really takes it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Easy to make and delicious--not to mention the compliments I got just for displaying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Well, I must be the odd person out. I had never made a cherry pie using fresh cherries so I made this exactly as written. 2 1/2 CUPS of cherries??? I am an apple pie maker and when I made the filling mixture it didn't look right to me. I did add a few more cherries but it still was not enough. I used a 9" pie plate as instructed but the cherries sat way too low. The finished pie was delicious but too sweet and I love sweet. I did check a bunch of other recipes after I made this and the smallest amount of cherries called for were 4 cups with most being 6 cups/ 2pounds. I did look at the some of the other reviews before makings and no one mentioned this. HELP..WHAT DID I DO WRONG? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but mine came out all juicy or watery. I never added any liquid. What happened? So soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States