Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by templina71
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Finally, the perfect cherry pie! I made 2 for Father's Day. Based on previous reviews I added 1/4 cup of flour(instead of 3 tbs) to one pie and 4 tbs corn starch added to the 2nd pie. We all liked the pie with extra flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Good old-fashioned cherry pie flavor! I love fruit pies that are thickened with flour, such as this one. I used 2 cans of sour cherries, increased the flour to 6 tablespoons and added another 1/2 cup sugar since the cherries were very tart. I added a dash of cinnamon, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. Very good recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
yum!!! this was soooo good! i upped the flour to 1/4 cup and it was perfect, not soupy at all. i didnt have quite 2 1/2 cups cherries so i added a black plum and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
The only modification I made to the recipe was to add 4 tablespoons corn starch to the fruit and sugar mixture before pouring it into the crust. I did this to correct for the excess liquid the previous poster reported. The pie was beautiful! Sweet, tart, and lovely. This is a good recipe for a no nonsense cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This pie was fantastic! I made a homemade crust and did a lattice top which I brushed with egg white and sprinkled with sugar before baking. It was beautiful! I didn't have fresh cherries so I used one bag of frozen tart cherries and one can of tart cherries, both drained. I increased the flour to 1/4 cup and the sugar to 1 cup due to the extra cherries. This was pretty runny while warm but after cooling it set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This pie was very runny. I might have done something wrong, but this pie was more like soup. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Add 1/4-1/2 tsp almond extract. Really takes it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Easy to make and delicious--not to mention the compliments I got just for displaying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Well, I must be the odd person out. I had never made a cherry pie using fresh cherries so I made this exactly as written. 2 1/2 CUPS of cherries??? I am an apple pie maker and when I made the filling mixture it didn't look right to me. I did add a few more cherries but it still was not enough. I used a 9" pie plate as instructed but the cherries sat way too low. The finished pie was delicious but too sweet and I love sweet. I did check a bunch of other recipes after I made this and the smallest amount of cherries called for were 4 cups with most being 6 cups/ 2pounds. I did look at the some of the other reviews before makings and no one mentioned this. HELP..WHAT DID I DO WRONG? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but mine came out all juicy or watery. I never added any liquid. What happened? So soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States