Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by templina71
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Finally, the perfect cherry pie! I made 2 for Father's Day. Based on previous reviews I added 1/4 cup of flour(instead of 3 tbs) to one pie and 4 tbs corn starch added to the 2nd pie. We all liked the pie with extra flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This pie was fantastic! I made a homemade crust and did a lattice top which I brushed with egg white and sprinkled with sugar before baking. It was beautiful! I didn't have fresh cherries so I used one bag of frozen tart cherries and one can of tart cherries, both drained. I increased the flour to 1/4 cup and the sugar to 1 cup due to the extra cherries. This was pretty runny while warm but after cooling it set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Good old-fashioned cherry pie flavor! I love fruit pies that are thickened with flour, such as this one. I used 2 cans of sour cherries, increased the flour to 6 tablespoons and added another 1/2 cup sugar since the cherries were very tart. I added a dash of cinnamon, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. Very good recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH TOO MUCH JUICE AND I USED SPLENDA TO SAV E SOME CALORIES. WE LOVED IT I SAVED THIS ONE TO MY RECIPE BOX AND WILL USE IT AGAIN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjusticesmith
Living In: Middletown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
The only modification I made to the recipe was to add 4 tablespoons corn starch to the fruit and sugar mixture before pouring it into the crust. I did this to correct for the excess liquid the previous poster reported. The pie was beautiful! Sweet, tart, and lovely. This is a good recipe for a no nonsense cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Was very runny. Will try adding more flour next time. Do love the use of non-canned cherries though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong, but tried this recipe twice and both times the sugar all fell to the bottom a crystalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
yum!!! this was soooo good! i upped the flour to 1/4 cup and it was perfect, not soupy at all. i didnt have quite 2 1/2 cups cherries so i added a black plum and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This cherry filling had a wonderful tart flavor but was too runny for my taste. It just needs a bit more flour to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe was so easy! I do not cook very often especially from scratch so this recipe was perfect for me. Everyone at the BBQ was impressed and my husband has requested I make more to freeze. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States