Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by templina71
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Finally, the perfect cherry pie! I made 2 for Father's Day. Based on previous reviews I added 1/4 cup of flour(instead of 3 tbs) to one pie and 4 tbs corn starch added to the 2nd pie. We all liked the pie with extra flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This pie was fantastic! I made a homemade crust and did a lattice top which I brushed with egg white and sprinkled with sugar before baking. It was beautiful! I didn't have fresh cherries so I used one bag of frozen tart cherries and one can of tart cherries, both drained. I increased the flour to 1/4 cup and the sugar to 1 cup due to the extra cherries. This was pretty runny while warm but after cooling it set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Good old-fashioned cherry pie flavor! I love fruit pies that are thickened with flour, such as this one. I used 2 cans of sour cherries, increased the flour to 6 tablespoons and added another 1/2 cup sugar since the cherries were very tart. I added a dash of cinnamon, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. Very good recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH TOO MUCH JUICE AND I USED SPLENDA TO SAV E SOME CALORIES. WE LOVED IT I SAVED THIS ONE TO MY RECIPE BOX AND WILL USE IT AGAIN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjusticesmith
Living In: Middletown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
The only modification I made to the recipe was to add 4 tablespoons corn starch to the fruit and sugar mixture before pouring it into the crust. I did this to correct for the excess liquid the previous poster reported. The pie was beautiful! Sweet, tart, and lovely. This is a good recipe for a no nonsense cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Was very runny. Will try adding more flour next time. Do love the use of non-canned cherries though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong, but tried this recipe twice and both times the sugar all fell to the bottom a crystalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
yum!!! this was soooo good! i upped the flour to 1/4 cup and it was perfect, not soupy at all. i didnt have quite 2 1/2 cups cherries so i added a black plum and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This cherry filling had a wonderful tart flavor but was too runny for my taste. It just needs a bit more flour to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe was so easy! I do not cook very often especially from scratch so this recipe was perfect for me. Everyone at the BBQ was impressed and my husband has requested I make more to freeze. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States