Cherry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Yummy and easy except for pitting the cherries. I reduced the sugar by 25% and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! Everyone that has it loves how tart it is. Instead of the wafer crust I use a pie crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
OMG, what a great pie!! It was SO delish. I brought some pieces into work and everyone raved about it!! And it was fairly simple to make. I didn't use as much sugar as the recipe called for so as not to overpower the flavor and taste of the tart cherries. My son and I picked the cherries and I made two pies, using two different recipes: one with regular crust and one with this crust. This crust did not become soggy even after a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this with a chocolate crust and it is AWESOME!!!! Topped it off with a little whipped cream - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Super great taste, so the 4 sars are only because of my own fault...this is the first cherry pie I've tried making, and, well, I should not have tried to improvise. Here's what NOT to do: don't use a graham cracker crust, it absorbed all of the gelatin mixture and became mushy. And speaking of the gelatin mixture--don't use regular jello; I guess plain gelatin sets up differently, huh? And/or, I didn't let this cool enough before pouring it over the cherries in the shell. Any-who, it still came out tasting great, and I'm going to have to make this again (following the recipe EXACTLY!), so that I can update my rating to a 5-star. At least it was only an "experiment" on my family, and not for guests :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was a very nice, refreshing change from the usual double crust, warm cherry pie. The wafer crust really hits the spot and the pie overall looks lovely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I had four cups of fresh cherries which needed to be used on this 95 degree summer day. This no-bake recipe was perfect for keeping the kitchen cool and really tasty in addition. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This is very close to what my husbands grandmother used to make 50+ years ago. The recipe was lost(by me) several years ago. I would use less sugar(3/4c) and mix the cornstarch into the lemon juice so it doesn't lump when added to the cherry mixture. The original recipe called for a whipped cream topping. Will use again for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I LOVE cherries but my husband does not. Believe it or not he ate 2 pieces! Thanks for a great keeper! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States