Cherry Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is exactly how Grandma taught me how to make pie filling, only sometimes she'd add a tablespoon of lemon juice if the cherries turned out too sweet. This is a great recipe to take advantage of all those beautiful Washington cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
someone gave me cherries this weekend .... it is way to hot to be baking, so I decided to make the filling now and bake later. This filling is wonderful..... It tastes so good I wonder if I will even get a pie, what I don't just eat with a spoon may go over ice cream or on waffles!!! (and I doubled the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very good. I made a double batch and froze the extra for a pie later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made this from bing cherries as a tart filling and it was delicious!! I, too, used a little lemon juice as I would for fruit jams and preserves. I'm so glad I had enough filling left over to use as a jam spread on my toast and even over ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was excellent! I cut it in half and used it with the Jenny's Black Forest Cake recipe. Not too sweet, but a perfect complement with chocolate cake! :-) Thanks. Update*** I used 1 1/2 cups cherries, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 Tbs cornstarch. It was the perfect amount to fill a 2 layer black forest cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was delicious and very easy to make! The only revision I made was to add 1 Tblspoon lemon juice to make it a little more tart. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
OMG! How can something so simple be so good?! No one wanted the cherries off the tree because they were so tart. So I got the lot of them. They made a FANTASTIC filling! I added a little cinnamon (maybe 1/2 tsp) and a few drops of almond extract. There may be no pie. Because I keep eating it by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Good!! Tip for Cherry Pie. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
didn't change a thing...this was just PERFECT thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenney2kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Excellent, saves me a lot of money considering I have a cherry tree in my yard-comes out a little sweet but the advice regarding lemon juice is perfect-plus it adds a little "kick" to it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States