Cherry Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I used fresh bing cherries, and added a handful of chocolate chips : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
very easy and fail proof! Can't go wrong with this one. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I had some trouble getting the muffins out of the baking dish, but they are very moist and taste great and had disappeared almost instanteneously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
These muffins are very easy and delicious -- I even won a blue ribbon for them at the Ventura County Fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
These are so good! I used fresh Bing cherries. I think the wetness of canned cherries may have caused the problems some of the reviewers were talking about. The fresh ones were so good in this. I used half applesauce for the butter, half whole-wheat pastry flour, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also used walnuts. These are so good and my husband and I cannot stop snacking on them! Thanks for the recipe! I only wish I had thought to add some vanilla or almond extract, I think it would make them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this recipe as a bread (like banana nut bread). I used bing cherries, reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It made a very dense loaf. But it was delicious. I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great taste! They didn't rise up like regular muffins. I used 1/2 c. wht. sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. honey, white whole wheat, instead of ap flour, fresh dark sweet cherries and added 1 tsp vanilla. I had a yield of 24 mini muffins, 12 regular muffins and two custard cups of little sweet breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made bars instead of muffins and used both fresh sour pie cherries and home canned cherries off the same tree drained well. My family loved them. The texture was actually better when I hand mixed the ingredients just until blended than when I used a mixer to cream the butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midway, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chuckey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
What a great recipe! I was looking for recipes that I could use fresh rainer cherries since our tree went crazy this year. My recipe made 12 medium muffins rather than the 24 indicated on the recipe, and they were average size. Couple of changes I made was to chop the cherries in the food processor, use less milk as someone suggested and add a little cinnamon to the batter. Didn't add the nuts since I was out. Topped with cinnamon/sugar mix (another good suggestion from the reviews.) Mine took 25 minutes to bake. We loved the muffins, enough so that we made several batches (since I had a ton of cherries) and froze them for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great taste and a good way to use up home canned Cherries. I followed recipe exactly, until I got to the milk. I followed some of the advise. I mixed everything up to see just how much milk I needed. Turned out to have used about 1/2 cup of milk. My cherries were home canned Royal Anne. Where I got in trouble was I didn't have any muffing tins so I baked it in a 5"x9" pan. After 20 min. (Very wet) another 10 min. etc. etc. I think I ended up baking about 45-50 minutes. Is definitely a keeper but next time I may add some cinnamon or vanilla flavoring. Although it is really good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States