Cherry Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
There's a little problem with this recipe - too much moisture! I omitted the milk altogether and used 2 cups of fresh cherries that I tossed with a couple of Tbsp. of sugar which produced their own juice. I creamed 1/2 cup of butter with 3/4 cup of white sugar and then added the eggs one at a time. I only used 1 & 3/4 cup of flour and instead of 2 tsp. of baking powder I used 1 tsp. and added a tsp. of baking soda. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. of vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. I left out the nuts as well. I poured the batter into six Texas sized muffins tins lined with paper, topped them with a generous amount of turbinado sugar and baked them at 400 for about 25 minutes. With those changes it's now a 4 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
These are so good! I used fresh Bing cherries. I think the wetness of canned cherries may have caused the problems some of the reviewers were talking about. The fresh ones were so good in this. I used half applesauce for the butter, half whole-wheat pastry flour, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also used walnuts. These are so good and my husband and I cannot stop snacking on them! Thanks for the recipe! I only wish I had thought to add some vanilla or almond extract, I think it would make them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
These muffins really don't bake well at all. Maybe using less sugar would help. Once you get past the ugly apprearance, they taste pretty good. But I've definately made better and I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
these muffins don't cook very well. I was disappointed with the final version. I made them twice to make sure it wasn't me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
very easy and fail proof! Can't go wrong with this one. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great taste! They didn't rise up like regular muffins. I used 1/2 c. wht. sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. honey, white whole wheat, instead of ap flour, fresh dark sweet cherries and added 1 tsp vanilla. I had a yield of 24 mini muffins, 12 regular muffins and two custard cups of little sweet breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this recipe as a bread (like banana nut bread). I used bing cherries, reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It made a very dense loaf. But it was delicious. I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very dense, somewhat sticky and overall a really heavy muffin. Edible enough to finish the batch but not something i would ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Because I changed this recipe, I gave it four stars to be fair to the person who wrote this. I substituted the dried cherries I had, instead of using canned. I could definitely see why these didn't bake well for others: my batter was pretty moist, but because I used dry cherries, they turned out pretty well. Canned cherries would have been way too wet. Overall, pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I used fresh bing cherries, and added a handful of chocolate chips : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States