Cherry Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great taste and a good way to use up home canned Cherries. I followed recipe exactly, until I got to the milk. I followed some of the advise. I mixed everything up to see just how much milk I needed. Turned out to have used about 1/2 cup of milk. My cherries were home canned Royal Anne. Where I got in trouble was I didn't have any muffing tins so I baked it in a 5"x9" pan. After 20 min. (Very wet) another 10 min. etc. etc. I think I ended up baking about 45-50 minutes. Is definitely a keeper but next time I may add some cinnamon or vanilla flavoring. Although it is really good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
What a great recipe! I was looking for recipes that I could use fresh rainer cherries since our tree went crazy this year. My recipe made 12 medium muffins rather than the 24 indicated on the recipe, and they were average size. Couple of changes I made was to chop the cherries in the food processor, use less milk as someone suggested and add a little cinnamon to the batter. Didn't add the nuts since I was out. Topped with cinnamon/sugar mix (another good suggestion from the reviews.) Mine took 25 minutes to bake. We loved the muffins, enough so that we made several batches (since I had a ton of cherries) and froze them for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made bars instead of muffins and used both fresh sour pie cherries and home canned cherries off the same tree drained well. My family loved them. The texture was actually better when I hand mixed the ingredients just until blended than when I used a mixer to cream the butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midway, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chuckey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I loved these muffins, after a few changes. First, I only made a half recipe. For that, I used 1 can of tart cherrries. I drained them first, then left them to drain more while I prepared the recipe. I used half whole wheat and half oat flour in the second batch, and they were better than with the all purpose!! Make sure you use a mixer to cream the sugar and butter, then add eggs. This gives a nice texture. Add the dry ingredients, mix till half incorporated, then add in the cherries. Mix just till incorporated. DON"T ADD THE MILK!! It will make your batter too thin. Then add a teaspoon of almond extract. These were so good I had to make a second batch the next day. I WILL be using this recipe again, as changed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very dense, somewhat sticky and overall a really heavy muffin. Edible enough to finish the batch but not something i would ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
There's a little problem with this recipe - too much moisture! I omitted the milk altogether and used 2 cups of fresh cherries that I tossed with a couple of Tbsp. of sugar which produced their own juice. I creamed 1/2 cup of butter with 3/4 cup of white sugar and then added the eggs one at a time. I only used 1 & 3/4 cup of flour and instead of 2 tsp. of baking powder I used 1 tsp. and added a tsp. of baking soda. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. of vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. I left out the nuts as well. I poured the batter into six Texas sized muffins tins lined with paper, topped them with a generous amount of turbinado sugar and baked them at 400 for about 25 minutes. With those changes it's now a 4 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great taste! They didn't rise up like regular muffins. I used 1/2 c. wht. sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. honey, white whole wheat, instead of ap flour, fresh dark sweet cherries and added 1 tsp vanilla. I had a yield of 24 mini muffins, 12 regular muffins and two custard cups of little sweet breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Because I changed this recipe, I gave it four stars to be fair to the person who wrote this. I substituted the dried cherries I had, instead of using canned. I could definitely see why these didn't bake well for others: my batter was pretty moist, but because I used dry cherries, they turned out pretty well. Canned cherries would have been way too wet. Overall, pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I've made this recipe three times now. The first two times I made them, I used a mixer and they were the ugliest muffins I've ever seen (but they still tasted delicious). This last time, I mixed everything by hand and they turned out much, much better. The texture is lighter, fluffier, they rise higher in the oven... I still think they are a little on the sweet side, so next time I will cut back a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this recipe as a bread (like banana nut bread). I used bing cherries, reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It made a very dense loaf. But it was delicious. I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States