Cherry Nut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This cake was really quick. I have to confess, I needed a dessert in a hurry so I used a boxed Confetti cake mix. I toasted the walnuts and didn't mix the pie filling in All the way, made it swirly. Nice way to be creative Janice!! Thank You Cherry Much! MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
man, that is one ugly cake! but very, very easy. i recently received a head injury, and, among other skills, lost my ability to follow recipes. but i followed this recipe perfectly. it was so ugly, i thought i screwed it up. but it was delicious! i feel confident in trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is an easy and super delicious cake! I confess that I did not "dump," but used a mixing bowl to thoroughly, but quickly blend the ingredients. Just a note of caution--be sure to blend the baking soda into the flour before mixing all the ingredients. If the baking soda is not blended evenly there will be bitter spots in the cake. My cake was done perfectly in 35 minutes. A total of 45 minutes baking time seems a bit long and this may be the reason some of the other reviewers found the cake to be dry. One final note--I added a few chocolate chips along with the nuts and this added a lot of interest and flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
After reading the reviews, I sifted the dry ingredients and mixed in the baking pan with the nuts. I combined all the wet ingredients (I used 1/3 cup applesauce and 1/3 cup oil and also added 1/2 teaspoon almond extract) thoroughly and then added to the dry ingredients / nuts in the pan. I thought I had stirred it pretty well, but there were still a few spots of dry flour. Next time, I will dump it all in a bowl and stir it up with a spoon there before putting it in the pan. I will also increase the almond extract to 1 teaspoon and add some cinnamon. I did like the recipe because it was one of the few dump cakes that did not call for a cake mix (which I rarely keep on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This is the easiest most excellent cake!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist and sweet... I think nearly any pie filling would work, so use your favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
I don't know what your other reviewer did wrong, as I found this easy to make and delicious to eat. I was very pleased with it and am delighted with the way it has turned out. By the way, the review "cards" look like pieces of toast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
great and easy, did is also with blueberry pie filling, doesn't look so great but the taste is yummy. thank's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I substituted almonds for the walnuts and added a tsp of vanilla, was very good warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I substituted applesuace for the vegetable oil and decreased the baking time to 30-35 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States