Cherry Nut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was one of the driest and most "condensed" cakes I have ever made- it was the equivalent of a gluten-free cake but without any flavor. The cherries and the nuts were overwhelmed by the density of the cake- I would never recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I was frankly dissapointed in this cake. It tasted rather oily, for lack of a better term. I did follow the recipe as written. I think the recipe is salvagable and will try it again with some substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARGUERITA1
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this cake for the first time today for a fundraiser at church. Every piece of cake was sold. After reading other reviews, I substituted 1/3 cup of oil and 1/3 cup applesauce. I also added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. I baked the cake for 30-32 minutes. It was delicious. I will be making this cake again soon. Thanks Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was so easy and very yummy. My family all asked for seconds, which is saying something! I left the walnuts out of the batter and sprinkled on top of half of the cake because we have some picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
what a great recipe! i must apologize, tho, as i didn't have the cherry pie filling. i used a jar of sour cherries. drained them and added about 4 T of the juice. i make an icing with the juice by adding a bit to some powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
After reading the reviews, I sifted the dry ingredients and mixed in the baking pan with the nuts. I combined all the wet ingredients (I used 1/3 cup applesauce and 1/3 cup oil and also added 1/2 teaspoon almond extract) thoroughly and then added to the dry ingredients / nuts in the pan. I thought I had stirred it pretty well, but there were still a few spots of dry flour. Next time, I will dump it all in a bowl and stir it up with a spoon there before putting it in the pan. I will also increase the almond extract to 1 teaspoon and add some cinnamon. I did like the recipe because it was one of the few dump cakes that did not call for a cake mix (which I rarely keep on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
man, that is one ugly cake! but very, very easy. i recently received a head injury, and, among other skills, lost my ability to follow recipes. but i followed this recipe perfectly. it was so ugly, i thought i screwed it up. but it was delicious! i feel confident in trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This cake was really quick. I have to confess, I needed a dessert in a hurry so I used a boxed Confetti cake mix. I toasted the walnuts and didn't mix the pie filling in All the way, made it swirly. Nice way to be creative Janice!! Thank You Cherry Much! MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is an easy and super delicious cake! I confess that I did not "dump," but used a mixing bowl to thoroughly, but quickly blend the ingredients. Just a note of caution--be sure to blend the baking soda into the flour before mixing all the ingredients. If the baking soda is not blended evenly there will be bitter spots in the cake. My cake was done perfectly in 35 minutes. A total of 45 minutes baking time seems a bit long and this may be the reason some of the other reviewers found the cake to be dry. One final note--I added a few chocolate chips along with the nuts and this added a lot of interest and flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This is the easiest most excellent cake!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist and sweet... I think nearly any pie filling would work, so use your favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States