Cherry Mash Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Easy, tastes great and best of all I don't have to wait till winter to have them sent to me from St. Joe Mo where the factory is. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for. You have to boil it to soft ball stage...the directions seem to have been written by someone who is good at eyeballing "doneness"...I am not, so I used my candy thermometer. It's pretty close to 5 min of rolling boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Its great. Refrigerator to harden. I roll cherry mixture in balls and dip in the choc mixture--makes individual pieces...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've search for years for my Grandmas cherry mash recipe and this is the closest I've come to duplicating hers. My family loves it. I have used a small scoop to form balls with the cherry mash and dipped in the chocolate mixture. This takes a bit longer but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe is good, but I added chopped peanuts. Just added them to the chocolate/peanut butter topping, and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this the first time as the recipe called but the cherry layer did not set. I made it again yesterday and had real success! Here are the changes: only 4 T. Butter (half what the recipe calls) and 2 cups mini marshmallows. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I make this every Christmas. It's one of our favorites and I've never had a problem with the cherry layer not setting up. The trick is to refrigerate the cherry layer while you are melting the chocolate and peanut butter (I use creamy pb and add a small pkg of nut topping). It doesn't have to be completely set up when you pour on the chocolate mixture. Return to fridge til it hardens. Comes out perfect every time! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I'd never made these before so I followed the recipe to a tee. The cherry part on the bottom of the pan never did set up firm. It did set up well enough that I was able to pour the chocolate on top but when I went to cut it it was an ooeey gooey mess. I now have the pan in the fridge hoping for a miracle. Otherwise people will have to eat this mess off of the spatual when they scoop it out of the pan cause they are way too gooey to hold in your hands! Next time I'll follow the soft ball boiling stage that everyone is talking about. They do taste exactly like the cherry mash candy I loved as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
First, I used double the chocolate chips and peanut butter. This is how I did it: I melted chocolate chips and peanut butter and spread this into a sprayed pan. Let set. Then I cooked butter, sugar, and milk until soft ball forms. Removed from heat. Add marshmallows, salt, vanilla, and cherry chips. Stirring until all marshmallows and chips are dissolved. Spread this on top of set peanut butter mixture. Then I melted more chocolate chips and peanut butter in microwave. Then I spread this on top of cherry chip mixture. This is like a Cherry Mash Candy Bar. It was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOHBEAR7396

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bosworth, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this recipe many years ago and only could find half of it in my old recipe box so was happy to find it in allrecipes. When ever i use to make it i never found anyone who didnt love it. I like to make several different cookies and candies this time of year and glad i will be all to add this old favorite again to my list. i hightly recommend anyone to try it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States