Cherry Mash Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very good recipe! I used Milk Chocolate instead of Semi-Sweet chips. I made 5 different kinds of Christmas Candy and this was everyone's favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Decadent! I tried them with the butterscotch chips and wow -- very, very sinful. It doesn't say in the recipie where to put the peanuts (type-o, I think) -- but I added them into the semi-sweet chocolate layer (just like the candy bar). My 10-year old daughter and her friends went berserk over them -- a definite hit with kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is a great recipe. However, I found it impossible to find cherry baking chips so I substituted them with white baking morsels and added strawberry extract to them. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
These are pretty good! Very rich! I could not find cherry chips anywhere locally so I used Hersheys raspberry flavored chocolate chips instead. I doubled the recipe and put in a 15X10 inch pan. The taste is very different. This is more of a candy than a cookie. It tastes sort of like a Mr. Goodbar with a berry twist. You need to work quickly spreading the mixture in the pan. I also would press the peanuts in this mixture next time after spreading, then put the topping on . I think it would be easier. Thanks Sarah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is one of my favorite candies from when I was a kid. Years later, it's still my favorite. I thought the recipe was lost after my grandmother died, as no one outside my family I've talked to has ever heard of it. I'm absolutely delighted to find such a wonderful recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Very good, almost like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is soooo easy to make! And it tastes like a million bucks! I couldn't find spanish nuts.. so I just got crushed mixed nuts (albout 1/2 cup found in a bag) Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Excellent!!!! i could not find cherry chips. I used about 5 drops cherry candy flavoring found at a local craft store, and white morsels, made it pink with some red food color. Tasted just like cherry mash my Grandma use to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
YUMMY! This candy tastes very close to the candy bar. The only change I made was that I put a chocolate layer on both top and bottom. I followed the recipe for the top chocolate layer but omitted the nuts. I poured this in my 8 x 8 pan first and allowed it to cool before adding the cherry layer and finishing with the top chocolate/nut layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States