Cherry Mash Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
YUMMY! This candy tastes very close to the candy bar. The only change I made was that I put a chocolate layer on both top and bottom. I followed the recipe for the top chocolate layer but omitted the nuts. I poured this in my 8 x 8 pan first and allowed it to cool before adding the cherry layer and finishing with the top chocolate/nut layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My understanding is that these "bars," which really are candy, have been a sentimental favorite since the company began making them in 1918! Cherry Mash even has it's own web site, on which you can either order the necessary cherry baking chips, or they guide you to massive web sites (think Amazon) where they also may be purchased if difficult to find in your area. In other words, if you REALLY need to make these but can't find the chips, it CAN be done! This recipe is on the package of chips on which they direct you to mix the nuts in with the chocolate/peanut butter mixture. They also suggest refrigerating this for faster setting, which indeed worked nicely. I guess I can see why some people think of these fondly, particularly if they grew up with them and have memories of their childhood. Maybe they're an acquired taste because as a Cherry Mash newbie I found them ungodly sweet and artificial tasting. Maybe that's their appeal! The chocolate/peanut butter/nut layer, however, is a perfect contrast, and if you don't like the cherry part it's good on it's own. I will say that I can't imagine making these without the nuts - the salty crunch and contrast in texture is a must for this candy and even using chunky peanut butter would not be a similar substitute. In the final analysis, I'm sure Cherry Mash Bar lovers would rate these five stars, as I'm sure they must be close to the real thing, but without the nostalgia these are not much more than a sugar rush for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Excellent!!!! i could not find cherry chips. I used about 5 drops cherry candy flavoring found at a local craft store, and white morsels, made it pink with some red food color. Tasted just like cherry mash my Grandma use to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is a great recipe. However, I found it impossible to find cherry baking chips so I substituted them with white baking morsels and added strawberry extract to them. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Decadent! I tried them with the butterscotch chips and wow -- very, very sinful. It doesn't say in the recipie where to put the peanuts (type-o, I think) -- but I added them into the semi-sweet chocolate layer (just like the candy bar). My 10-year old daughter and her friends went berserk over them -- a definite hit with kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very good recipe! I used Milk Chocolate instead of Semi-Sweet chips. I made 5 different kinds of Christmas Candy and this was everyone's favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Old family recipe that is simple to make yet looks very colorful and delicious to the taste! You can find cherry chips at local department/grocery stores and dollar stores, usually shelved with the chocolate chips. Have also experienced "loose" pink layer so cook 10 minutes stirring constantly up to and while it boils. Per recipe on the chips bag, added half the peanuts with addition of cherry chips and the other half with the chocolate/peanut butter mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is reminiscent of that old-time candy found in supermarkets ages ago. My brother-in-law LOVES cherry mash candy, so this was a find! Also, it didn't say what to do with the peanuts, but I mixed them into the chocolate peanut butter mix and sprinkled a few on top. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very good & very rich. I didn't have peanuts, but I did use chunky peanut butter. I can see where the addition of salted peanuts would help cut the sweetness. We really enjoyed this, but the remainder is going to the office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is soooo easy to make! And it tastes like a million bucks! I couldn't find spanish nuts.. so I just got crushed mixed nuts (albout 1/2 cup found in a bag) Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States