Cherry Mash Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very good recipe! I used Milk Chocolate instead of Semi-Sweet chips. I made 5 different kinds of Christmas Candy and this was everyone's favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Decadent! I tried them with the butterscotch chips and wow -- very, very sinful. It doesn't say in the recipie where to put the peanuts (type-o, I think) -- but I added them into the semi-sweet chocolate layer (just like the candy bar). My 10-year old daughter and her friends went berserk over them -- a definite hit with kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is a great recipe. However, I found it impossible to find cherry baking chips so I substituted them with white baking morsels and added strawberry extract to them. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
These are pretty good! Very rich! I could not find cherry chips anywhere locally so I used Hersheys raspberry flavored chocolate chips instead. I doubled the recipe and put in a 15X10 inch pan. The taste is very different. This is more of a candy than a cookie. It tastes sort of like a Mr. Goodbar with a berry twist. You need to work quickly spreading the mixture in the pan. I also would press the peanuts in this mixture next time after spreading, then put the topping on . I think it would be easier. Thanks Sarah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is one of my favorite candies from when I was a kid. Years later, it's still my favorite. I thought the recipe was lost after my grandmother died, as no one outside my family I've talked to has ever heard of it. I'm absolutely delighted to find such a wonderful recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Very good, almost like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is soooo easy to make! And it tastes like a million bucks! I couldn't find spanish nuts.. so I just got crushed mixed nuts (albout 1/2 cup found in a bag) Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Excellent!!!! i could not find cherry chips. I used about 5 drops cherry candy flavoring found at a local craft store, and white morsels, made it pink with some red food color. Tasted just like cherry mash my Grandma use to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
YUMMY! This candy tastes very close to the candy bar. The only change I made was that I put a chocolate layer on both top and bottom. I followed the recipe for the top chocolate layer but omitted the nuts. I poured this in my 8 x 8 pan first and allowed it to cool before adding the cherry layer and finishing with the top chocolate/nut layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States