Cherry Mash Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I couldn't find cherry chips, so I used butterscotch chips as suggested. They were easy to make, but soooooooo sweet. Not my favorite, but my friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Old family recipe that is simple to make yet looks very colorful and delicious to the taste! You can find cherry chips at local department/grocery stores and dollar stores, usually shelved with the chocolate chips. Have also experienced "loose" pink layer so cook 10 minutes stirring constantly up to and while it boils. Per recipe on the chips bag, added half the peanuts with addition of cherry chips and the other half with the chocolate/peanut butter mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I have always had confidence in 5/5 star recipes and hardly ever dislike what I make, but this one is just not a keeper for us. Unless my cherry chips were just bad quality, these flavors are way too sweet and don't mix very well (choc/pb/cherry) Ended up, dumping the cherry layer out and eating the pb/choc. Also, this recipe doesn't seem to list what to do with the peanuts, even though I used nuts under choc. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very good & very rich. I didn't have peanuts, but I did use chunky peanut butter. I can see where the addition of salted peanuts would help cut the sweetness. We really enjoyed this, but the remainder is going to the office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
YUMMY! This candy tastes very close to the candy bar. The only change I made was that I put a chocolate layer on both top and bottom. I followed the recipe for the top chocolate layer but omitted the nuts. I poured this in my 8 x 8 pan first and allowed it to cool before adding the cherry layer and finishing with the top chocolate/nut layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Excellent!!!! i could not find cherry chips. I used about 5 drops cherry candy flavoring found at a local craft store, and white morsels, made it pink with some red food color. Tasted just like cherry mash my Grandma use to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is soooo easy to make! And it tastes like a million bucks! I couldn't find spanish nuts.. so I just got crushed mixed nuts (albout 1/2 cup found in a bag) Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Very good, almost like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is one of my favorite candies from when I was a kid. Years later, it's still my favorite. I thought the recipe was lost after my grandmother died, as no one outside my family I've talked to has ever heard of it. I'm absolutely delighted to find such a wonderful recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States