Cherry Mash Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Wow, I love everything cherry and this fits the bill. They are very, very sweet so I cut the pieces very small. I found the cherry chips at Cub Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desire2bfit
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
No cherry chips here... Substituted cranraisins into cherry bottom with white chocolate chips and followed the recipe. Also used Dove Dark chocolate and semisweet chocolate stars from the grocery store. Picky hubby and 18month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Thanks for sharing this recipe. Never heard of cherry mash but made these for my cherry loving husband for the holidays. He loved them. I'm not sure about the chocolate/peanut butter/cherry combination myself but I will make them again for my mate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T-Bone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made these to bring to work for a treat day. I, personally, would give them two stars since I thought the cherry layer was too sweet, and the fake cherry flavor was cloying. But, a number of my coworkers seemed to like them, so I bumped up the stars to three. They aren't bad, by any means - it's just a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My understanding is that these "bars," which really are candy, have been a sentimental favorite since the company began making them in 1918! Cherry Mash even has it's own web site, on which you can either order the necessary cherry baking chips, or they guide you to massive web sites (think Amazon) where they also may be purchased if difficult to find in your area. In other words, if you REALLY need to make these but can't find the chips, it CAN be done! This recipe is on the package of chips on which they direct you to mix the nuts in with the chocolate/peanut butter mixture. They also suggest refrigerating this for faster setting, which indeed worked nicely. I guess I can see why some people think of these fondly, particularly if they grew up with them and have memories of their childhood. Maybe they're an acquired taste because as a Cherry Mash newbie I found them ungodly sweet and artificial tasting. Maybe that's their appeal! The chocolate/peanut butter/nut layer, however, is a perfect contrast, and if you don't like the cherry part it's good on it's own. I will say that I can't imagine making these without the nuts - the salty crunch and contrast in texture is a must for this candy and even using chunky peanut butter would not be a similar substitute. In the final analysis, I'm sure Cherry Mash Bar lovers would rate these five stars, as I'm sure they must be close to the real thing, but without the nostalgia these are not much more than a sugar rush for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My fiance talked about these all the time so I surprised him with a batch... He said they tasted just as he remembered! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lamar, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
So easy ~ So quick ~ So delicious! This was our first time trying these treats, even though we grew up seeing them in convenience stores. Loved them - a perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
so yeah i made these tonight and for some reason my filling didnt set so my chocolate just dropped in, maybe next time ill let the filling cool in the fridge than put on the chocolate. anywayz ive tasted it and its soooooo good and delicious. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good! I used chunky peanut butter instead of adding peanuts and it is great! Will make again and will try using butterscotch chips for something different. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is reminiscent of that old-time candy found in supermarkets ages ago. My brother-in-law LOVES cherry mash candy, so this was a find! Also, it didn't say what to do with the peanuts, but I mixed them into the chocolate peanut butter mix and sprinkled a few on top. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States