Cherry Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
What a great recipes! I made these for Valentine for my sweetheart (husband of 14 years who loves cherries!) and the color & taste where great for this event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bulverde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Delicious! I followed some suggestions here, adding grated rind of one lemon with the flour and drying the cherries very well before adding them to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
These cookies are my families favorite.I lost my recipe for them and now you have helped me find it again,Thank you so much and my family thanks you also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
this has got to be the best cookie recipe ever! I get raves every time I make them! They are really fast to put together and then they just sit patiently in the freezer until you are ready for them. I made mine for the first time the day after Thanksgiving and didn't bake them until the week of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These cookies are delicious! I love making them! The red decorator's sugar just makes them adorable. I added a little bit of lemon zest to give the dough a little more of a bite and it really made things interesting. Not a quick or easy recipe, but a fun one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
These were time-consuming and a little messy to make but turned out beautifully. Great choice for a cookie platter! I made four smaller logs instead of two big ones for easier handling. The taste is not obvious but a nice, subtle combination of butter and sweet cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Just like Mom used to make at Christmas time! The kids and the husband ate them all before we could serve them to guests. Maybe too good a receipt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMZGRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I really liked these! I used only 1 cup of pecans and halved the cherries instead of chopping them. I wanted to bite into a big cherry chunk. Yes, this dough is really crumbly and difficult to work with. I made the dough in the morning before work and baked them when I got home later that evening. I didn't roll into logs because I found it cumbersome. I just used a spoon and rolled the dough into small balls and then pressed down with a fork. I ended up baking them for a total of 12 minutes (bake 6 minutes, turn tray around, bake another 6 minutes). Oh and I did throw in some lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I absolutely love cherries, so I had to try this recipe, and they came out so delicious! I did change a few things though: I reduced the amount of flour to 2 1/4 cup (dough was not as crumbly), and since I didn't have a lemon for zest, I used 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. I also added a drop of red food coloring to the cookie dough to turn them pink. I only chilled the dough for about 2hrs, rolled them into balls and covered them in the red sugar and baked them for 8min. My fiancee loved them and he's not really a cherry person. I think these are going into my tins at Christmas!! Thank you so much for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitsune

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Not really what I was looking for. Dough was quite crumbly before rolling. Taste was a little flat. Due to allergies, nuts were left out. May play a little with the recipe to add some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States