Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used lactose free heavy creme for the milk and heavy creme portions, lactose free 3% greek yogurt since we prefer a creamier Ice cream. Didn't know what cherry concentrate was but prefer homemade ingredients in ice cream so I made a cherry syrup with real cherries,water and sugar. Worked nicely and I found the end result was more light like yogurt ice cream and sorbet then rich traditional ice cream. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Wow...amazing. Followed recipe exactly and only change I made was to add dark chocolate. The Cherry Garcia addict I made it for proclaimed it was better than the Ben and Jerry's ice cream because it had more cherry flavor. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing. Oh, I got the tart cherry concentrate at the health food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My favorite ice cream ever! Omit cherry juice and replace with a little more cream and vanilla extract for vanilla cherry or add chocolate shavings or chunks for your own version of cherries Garcia - YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I am in heaven! Yumm! I changed the dairy around based on what I had in the refrigerator. With ice cream recipes, as long as the volume is the same it works. I had fat free vanilla yogurt so I used low fat milk instead. I love hearing all of the solutions for the cherry concentrate. Mine was to use the juice from the frozen cherries to make a cherry simple syrup. So good. Of course for Cherry Garcia fans, chocolate chunks are a must add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Luv this recipe. Roxs!!! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very yummy! I forgot to put in the almond extract, but honestly didn't miss it. I also used maraschino syrup instead and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Instead of using cherry concentrate, I macerated the fresh cherries over night in some sugar and a little water, then I used that juice. It came out just fine & saved me a couple of bucks :) I have been on a coconut craze lately so instead of almond extract I used coconut. This is a fun recipe to experiment with. I thought about trying chocolate yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I'm not a great fan of cherry ice cream (I made it because my husband loves it), but this really is fantastic! The only changes I made were omitting the almond extract and using cherry syrup instead of the concentrate. We didn't think that there was a strong yogurt flavor at all. I'll definitely make this again, it's too good and easy not to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was the first recipe I tried in my new ice cream maker! It came out good. I made some substitutions to make it semi-lowfat. I used sugar substitute, fat free milk with butter instead of heavy cream (I didn't have any) and fat free greek yogurt. I used fresh cherries and boiled down cherry juice to a quarter cup. Then I used my immersion blender to mix it all up before pouring it into the ice cream maker. I kept some big chunks of cherries in there. It turns a pretty pink color and was not quite as creamy as ice cream, but with my substitutions I didn't expect it to be. I added chocolate chips based on others suggestions, but it didn't need them at all. This has an excellent flavor as is. Good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States