Cherry Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These were delicious. A bit too sweet for me but they were a hit at the BBQ. I didn't have cherry pie filling so I made my own pineapple pie filling from a recipe here on AR. Then followed the rest of the recipe. Very tasty and easy to make. I only had 4 hours to let it sit in the fridge but I think they were just fine. I did have to bake them for 50 minutes to get the crispy golden crust. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used strawberry rhubarb pie filling and it was delicious too! I also substituted margarine for the butter (due to a dairy intolerance) and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Fantastic dessert and goes a long way. I used 10 6" flour tortillas and a 9x13 pan held 10. I used 1 8 oz block of cream cheese whipped with 1 T of granulated sugar as suggested by another reviewer. It took about 1 and 1/3 cans of cherry pie filling. I used the amout of liquid as called for in the recipe and held in refrigerator for 24 hrs. I put the cinnamon/sugar mixture and almonds on before baking. It was just perfect. I had leftovers and next day put in oven @ 275 degrees to warm up. They tasted like just baked! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angieb
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Amazing!! I also took the advice of another reviewer and added a cream cheese powdered sugar mixure. I will be trying with apples next!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
There must be something wrong with me. Everyone that ate this raved about how much they loved it. This is the reason I am giving four stars. Only thing I changed was an addition of cream cheese & I didn't particularly love it at all. Something about the texture of the tortillas to me. But with everyone else in love with it and demanding more It must be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chammack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
So easy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
There are too many people with too many modifications for this to be a 4.5 star recipe. But it has great potential, and that's what people seem to like. Leaving the recipe to soak in hot sugar water overnight is gross - the tortillas are soggy and there is no recovery from that. 5 tortillas in a 13x9" pan makes no sense, but 10" tortillas won't fit in an 8" square brownie pan. You also have no need for a whole stick of butter - half is more than enough. If this recipe had been for fajita-sized tortillas in a 8" pan, and the liquid has been less watery and half as much butter, it would be a 4+ star recipe for me. I had to change way too much to make this recipe worthy of the stars it has, and that's disappointing. But I still recommend people try this - just follow the advise of others who have reviewed and learned through trial and error. I'll likely make this again, with numerous modifications, because it really is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I followed others' reviews about mixing cream cheese and powdered sugar (half a brick of cream cheese and about a quarter cup of powdered sugar) and spreading the mixture on the tortillas before I added the cherries. It tasted delicious but looked a little chunky when the filling overflowed in the pan--could be that it was reduced fat cream cheese? I used an 8x8 square pan, and all five enchiladas fit tightly. I also substituted half and half for water in the syrup mixture, which worked really well. The weirdest thing about this recipe was that the top half of the enchiladas were delicious-crispy and sugary and tasty...the bottom half was white and soggy. Next time, it might be worth turning them after they've sat for a few hours or rolling the whole thing in your cinnamon sugar mixture...some way to keep the whole thing crunchy. This is a good recipe but definitely needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Made a cherry and peach pan for a large brunch. Everyone loved them. Drizzled a little cream cheese frosting (left over from cinnamon rolls) when they came out of the oven. Huge hit! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snmaxie83
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were delicious!!! The first time I made the recipe as written, and the second time I made several changes that made it even better! For the sauce I used heavy cream instead of water, and cut down the butter to 2 tbsp. I also added 1tsp of mexican extract. For the filling I added vanilla extract, sugar, and cinnamon. I also mixed 1 package of cream cheese with some condensed milk. I spread the cream cheese mixture on the inside of the tortilla and continued the recipe as stated. This was very tasty, and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States