Cherry Dump Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is lovely! Just picked about 30 pounds of cherries and got them all pitted! Now THAT is a feat! Because my husband and I like desserts on the 'a little less sweet side' I halved the sugar in the batter and halved the sugar on the cherries. Also switched the white sugar on the cherries to brown sugar. Oh, the other change was to use in addition to the vanilla extract 1 tsp almond extract. Incredulous! To top it off, I also whipped a little heavy cream to which I added a splash or two of Amaretto! Divine! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Just in case you're like me & hadn't heard of "dump pudding," it's basically a cobbler. :) Obviously lots of people love this recipe & were able to finesse it to turn out successfully, but I was underwhelmed, especially with how long it took to pit those cherries! I love the flavor of the fresh cherries right on top & that portion of the dish deserves more than 3 stars. However, my cake turned out unevenly baked, & overall it was dry. In order for me to enjoy eating it, it had to be served with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream to add moisture. I think this problem can be repaired by baking longer at a lower oven temp (350?). Also, the cake's flavor isn't decadent, but perhaps that's my fault: I only added about 1 c of juice b/c prior to baking, the pudding looked so full & gooey already, I was afraid of adding too much & it not cooking. More juice would have really helped but I still feel it needs a stronger butter flavor. **One tip: be sure to put your dish on a cookie sheet to keep your oven clean! As far as making this recipe again, I would use the method of the raw cherries alone on top, but with a different cake recipe underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
An easy recipe that's often requested of me when I'm to bring a dessert. I use canned tart cherries and their juice, as I generally can't get fresh. I can't think of any other substitutions to make, which is a rarity. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
One word says it all for this recipe....DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Okay, this one is is terrific. I was not sure what to expect, but what a huge hit! The cake is not all that sweet, but such a wonderful vanilla flavor. I have made several times and it is a keeper..thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this with fresh pitted cherries and made it exactly as the recipe say's except i swapped the cherry juice for water and put self raising flour in as well as the baking powder. It tastes glorious! Using water makes the pudding a golden colour instead of purple like in the picture. I put mine in a 13" x 9" x 2.5"(deep) baking dish. And it only took 35 mins in my oven. The pudding mixture is really tasty in this recipe and you could substitute the cherries for any moist fruit. This pudding doesnt have any sauce and the only moisture once baked was from the fruit (perhaps because my cherries were fresh?). But i wouldnt say it was dry. It was just right! Definatley recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Not sure why it called a pudding, it is definitely a cake, but good nonetheless. Took longer to bake because I did not have a 10X10 dish, so the closest I had was a 9 1/2 round pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Mmm! I followed the recipe exactly and it was scrumptious. Best served hot with vanilla ice cream. Like another reviewer stated, this is more like a cake than a "pudding". I used a round casserole dish that was pretty deep and it had just the right amount of room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This reminded me a great deal of my grandmother's cherry cobbler and I really liked her cobbler as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Amazing! Very good with Vanilla Ice Cream or whipped cream. If you don't want a tart cherry dessert, this is for you. It's an easy recipe to make and left overs are just as good as the day of. We used a standard 9"x12" glass baking dish instead of the suggested 10x10, which we didn't have. Make sure you use non-stick spray! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States