Cherry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Very good! I basically just used the crisp topping in this recipe, using all whole-wheat pastry flour for the white. It was delicious! I hate canned cherry pie filling, so instead, I used one 16 oz. bag of frozen sweet dark cherries from Trader Joe's, and one can of sour pie cherries. I poured the juice from the can in because I like juicy crisp desserts. I added no additional sugar. Put the crisp all on top and used the same size pan called for in the recipe. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Good overall flavor (I used blueberry filling). I will, however, have to play with the recipe. When I think of "crunch", I like it all to be crunchy. The layer on the bottom got too soft for my taste. Next time I'll put it all on top. Also, I won't use rolled oats again, the texture wasn't right. I'll use the quick oats next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Very good and very simple to make. I added a splash of almond extract to give it a boost of cheery flavor. I also didn't make the bottom layer with the oat mixture. I used it all on top. Definately a keeper...great for when unexpected company arrives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is DELICIOUS. Because I don't ever buy canned pie filling, I made my own from frozen cherries and a mixture of water, a little lemon juice, vanilla extract, sugar and cornstarch. I served this crisp style with a dollop of whipped topping--we all really liked it. Next time, I'll try this with homemade apple pie filling and apple pie spice. I think that would be REALLY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
When Mr. LTH's stepfather requested "something cherry" for his birthday dessert (and his celebration got bumped up at the last minute), this is what I stumbled upon to make for him. This is GREAT and easy! The only change I made was to add some almond paste to the crunch (thanks, Marie C!) as I'd planned to add almond extract but found myself out of it! I couldn't find any of my 8X8 pans, so I needed to use a larger pan and, as such, used 2 cans of filling but left everything else the same. Awesome. We liked it so much, I made it 3 days later for Christmas. When I made for Christmas (in 2 pie plates because I still can't find any of my square glass pans!), I accidentally used a jar of RED RASPBERRY filling in one pan and I think I actually liked that even better. All in all, a great simple recipe. THANKS, Timothy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Umm-umm good! This was so quick & easy!! We loved it!!! As someone else suggested, I added a splash of almond extract to the cherries. I also added a little more butter & some water because the crumb mixture seemed too dry. Maybe it's suppose to since it is a "crumb" mixture. Next time I'll leave out the water to see the difference. We are ancious to try this w/ apple & blue-berry pie fillings. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I double the batch and made in a 9X15 cake pan for a morning breakfast for my co-workers. I put one layer of the crumble in my pan and pressed it down. Then baked it for 10 minutes before putting the cherries on top along with the rest of the crumble. I then baked for 30 more minutes. Turned out petty good…I would make again. It wasn’t a to-die for dessert but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I made this for a work birthday breakfast party and everyone loved it! I did modify the recipe. Used two packets of brown sugar and cinnamon instant oatmeal instead of tthe rolled oats. Used a stick and a half of butter and added one whole packet plus two sheets of graham crackers to recipe (regular graham crackers). Sprinkled lots of cinamon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Yum! I agree with the other reviewer who said this is even better cold. I followed the recipe but did put all the crunch on top as I did not want to risk a soggy bottom. In the future, I will add maybe another half can of cherry pie filling to make the ratio of crunch to fruit more equal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is almost exactly like my recipe that I've been using for years. The butter,flour, sugar and oats are the same, but I don't use cinnamon and I DO use 3/4 t. baking powder and 1/4 t. salt. I just happened to have made this tonight and then saw the photo. One thing that I might recommend is to mix the crumbs with your hands. The warmth of your hands softens the butter and makes nice little clumps instead of dry powdery crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States