Cherry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious. I made it for a friend who had knee replacement surgery, my Mom made the dinner and I made the dessert - I gave them a small pint of vanilla ice cream to go with the dessert. I changed a few things based on reviews: I used 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons of soft butter, I used 1 cup of brown sugar and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the cherries. It was great - and I don't normally like cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe was very easy and very good. I made it as is and we were very pleased with the results. Add some vanilla ice cream and it's perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
LOVE this! My mom used to make it Sunday nights for us when we were growing up! Put a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on top and it is like a bowl of heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good, although I think it needs both more crust and more pie filling. I doubled the crust on this (my first attempt), and next time I will use two cans of pie filling. Overall very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLIKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
A little bland on its own, but the almond extract recommendation made it delicious. I love how easy it is to make -- just a matter of throwing things together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for a vegan family member using vegetable oil and it turned out well. I recommend reducing the cook time if using veg oil instead of butter. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
When Mr. LTH's stepfather requested "something cherry" for his birthday dessert (and his celebration got bumped up at the last minute), this is what I stumbled upon to make for him. This is GREAT and easy! The only change I made was to add some almond paste to the crunch (thanks, Marie C!) as I'd planned to add almond extract but found myself out of it! I couldn't find any of my 8X8 pans, so I needed to use a larger pan and, as such, used 2 cans of filling but left everything else the same. Awesome. We liked it so much, I made it 3 days later for Christmas. When I made for Christmas (in 2 pie plates because I still can't find any of my square glass pans!), I accidentally used a jar of RED RASPBERRY filling in one pan and I think I actually liked that even better. All in all, a great simple recipe. THANKS, Timothy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this with my homemade cherry pie filling, made with cherries from my cherry tree, and it was excellent! I didn't have any oats so I improvised, omitting the cinnamon and using apple cinnamon oatmeal. Got rave reviews from my dh and kiddo's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serving_Him

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Simple and impressive. I goofed and realized after putting in the oven that I forgot the brown sugar! So I scraped off the top layer, added 1/2 the called for brown sugar, baked it, and it still came out great! I added the almond extract to filling as advised, and also added chopped toasted almonds to top layer of crumb. I baked in a springform pan, and if you can wait til it cools, it will cut into squares quite nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
My family and I absolutely love this recipe! I like to make it in individual size tart pans and serve it warm with vanilla ice cream on top. I've also made it with blueberry and apple fillings and it always turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States