Cherry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Great desert, especially with vanilla ice cream. I used strawberries instead of cherries. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great summer treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I took this to a cookout and everyone seemed to like it. I had a can of blueberry pie filling so I made it with that instead of cherry. The flavor of the oat topping was nice. But it seemed a little dry and I think I'll use a little extra butter next time. This is a great recipe to make when short on time and you want to take something nice for a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I used fresh sweet cherries instead of canned pie filling and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very Easy and VEry Yummy. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a topping for over 30 years, however it is different using half a bottom layer. I make it interchangeably with butter or margarine; and double the cinnamon doesn't go amiss either. I also make the topping up and bake it by itself, and freeze for topping on any dessert or ice cream. Great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef V
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious! I found a can of cherry pie filling in my pantry,and wanted to make something different with it, for a quick saturday dessert. I did add a bit more butter, maybe 1/4 cup, and mixed everything with my hands so the butter could soften. Also baked the bottom layer for about 15 mins first before adding the cherries and the topping. I added a tad of vanilla to my cherries(just because i seem to add vanilla to everything). With the topping part i added a handful of mini chocolate chip, not becuase i wanted to change the recipe but just because i LOVE chocolate. Baked everything for another 30 mins and it came out wonderful. This recipe if foresure a keeper. The crumble topping is yummy, would love to try this with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious!! I made exactly as recipe the first time & it was great! The second time I added 3/4 tsp baking powder & a 1/4 tsp of salt to the crumb mixture. And added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the cherry. (Oh! and baked the crumb 'crust' for 10 minutes before topping with cherries, to keep it from getting soggy) Even better!! (I'm dying to try this with apple or blueberry pie filling -- or even PEACH!!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy! I've always liked this dessert since I was a kid! And, my kids always liked it, too. I often get a hankering for this. This is a easy recipe, and tastes good, too. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe. I made it as written, with the oat mixture on the top and bottom and thought it was the perfect ratio of oat mixture to fruit. Make sure to break up the butter into a pretty fine mixture. I left mine a little to chunky and some of the oas/flour mixture was still a little dry after it baked. I doubled the cinnamon and used half whole wheat flour and half white. I took this to dinner at a friend's house and everyone liked it. I served it topped with vanilla ice cream - yummy! Next time, I'm going to add some chopped pecans or walnuts to the oat mixture. Would be wonderful with any kind of fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States