Cherry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I'm probably going to write a novel here, so please bear with me. I made quite a few changes to the recipe. You might want to say I "healthed it up". I used white whole wheat flour, which is a somewhat obscure kind of flour but it is wholegrain without feeling like you're eating a brick. I also used granulated brown sugar and decreased it to 2/3 cup, but the cake was still sweet enough. I replaced the oil completely with unsweetened applesauce. I used only 1 very large egg, and used ricemilk for the milk. Ended up also sprinkling 2 tablespoons of chopped walnuts over the top of the batter before baking, which was really the bottom once I turned the cake out because I used a bundt pan. I kept the cherries at 1 1/2 cups. If you want a cake WITH cherries, follow the recipe guidelines. If you want a cake OF cherries, add more. This was SO moist and flavorful. I might add a streusel topping next time I make it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Nice brunch coffee cake! I made it just as the recipe indicated. It's cherry season again and this is a great way to use part of the box I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katosmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I also increased the cherries to two cups and it turned out great. It was a delicious way to use up cherries from our local farmers market. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I love cherries and I thought this coffee cake was good but not the best that I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Awesome moist, cinnamony, cherry coffee cake. Simple to make. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I really loved this recipe! However, I did make a few simple changes. I added about 2 cups of cherries and baked the cake in an 8x8 glass dish which had to be greased and floured. The cake was beautiful~it was moist and had a slight crunch to the outside. I mixed up a little milk and confectioners' sugar to make a quick glaze to pour over the top for additional sweetness! The cake disappeared~we will make this cake again! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I would make it for any occasion. Thank you for the recipe. JC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States