Cherry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I'm probably going to write a novel here, so please bear with me. I made quite a few changes to the recipe. You might want to say I "healthed it up". I used white whole wheat flour, which is a somewhat obscure kind of flour but it is wholegrain without feeling like you're eating a brick. I also used granulated brown sugar and decreased it to 2/3 cup, but the cake was still sweet enough. I replaced the oil completely with unsweetened applesauce. I used only 1 very large egg, and used ricemilk for the milk. Ended up also sprinkling 2 tablespoons of chopped walnuts over the top of the batter before baking, which was really the bottom once I turned the cake out because I used a bundt pan. I kept the cherries at 1 1/2 cups. If you want a cake WITH cherries, follow the recipe guidelines. If you want a cake OF cherries, add more. This was SO moist and flavorful. I might add a streusel topping next time I make it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Nice brunch coffee cake! I made it just as the recipe indicated. It's cherry season again and this is a great way to use part of the box I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katosmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I also increased the cherries to two cups and it turned out great. It was a delicious way to use up cherries from our local farmers market. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I love cherries and I thought this coffee cake was good but not the best that I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Awesome moist, cinnamony, cherry coffee cake. Simple to make. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I really loved this recipe! However, I did make a few simple changes. I added about 2 cups of cherries and baked the cake in an 8x8 glass dish which had to be greased and floured. The cake was beautiful~it was moist and had a slight crunch to the outside. I mixed up a little milk and confectioners' sugar to make a quick glaze to pour over the top for additional sweetness! The cake disappeared~we will make this cake again! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I would make it for any occasion. Thank you for the recipe. JC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States