Cherry Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Excellent flavor! Bake the base for 15-20 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. Bake until golden brown on top. Cool on wire rack. Cut with a sharp knife and sprinkle with confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
My FAVORITE childhood recipe! If you like cherries, and you like coconut - guaranteed you'll think you died and went to heaven... Enjoy. I'd give it six stars if that were an option...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Also one of my favorite childhood recipes. The only problem is that they go too quickly. I like to double to recipe and make it in a 13x9 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Great bars, they received lots of good comments. Only thingid that the crust had a hard time staying together when taken out of the pan. Let it cool completely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIDIMM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Everyone enjoyed-nice to have something different to eat! Thanks for recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This is much better with toasted slivered almonds instead of walnuts, and real cherries instead of maraschinos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This has been a bar I've made for years. My husband has to have it every Christmas. I too double the recipe. I also bake the crust for a 20 minutes. I found it works well to lower the temperatue of the oven to 325 degrees during the last ten minutes of baking. Then the edges don't get so brown. compared to the outside edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Different. Not too bad. Unsure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very good, but I had to cook them longer than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These are yummy. I used almost 3/4 cup cherries. as another reviewer suggested, I used almonds (did not have real cherries). Does anyone have an opinion, which is better- sour or sweet?? I rated it a 4 star- recipe did not state whether butter should be cold or soft, and it was not ready after baking 25 min. I baked it til golden brown with great results- a delicate, crispy layer on top-soft and chew in the middle. UPDATE: I tried it with fresh sweet cherries. The batter looked so wet-so I added 1/8-1/4 cup flour. A mistake! It came out too dense-like a heavy cake. Still a great recipe. Next time: It will be sour cherries- with no extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States