Cherry Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I've made a version of this recipe for years. My version uses brown sugar and no cherries. The shortbread crust is wonderful. I used a food processor and cold butter. It produced a smooth small dry crumb that I pressed into the pan and then baked for 20 minutes, as suggested by other reviewers. I also dusted the bars lightly with powdered sugar. I cut them into 16 bars, I think 24 would make bars too small. This is a good recipe and I loved the maraschino cherries and walnuts in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Deliciously different bar cookie that's easy, quick and fills the house with a decadent aroma. I followed the recipe exactly and had perfect results. Especially attractive on a Christmas/New Year's dessert plate. Thank you so much for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My 12 year old made this mostly by herself. It was great, we left out the nuts due to allergies and increased the cocnut and cherries slightly. My favorite part was the shortbread, it was very light and flakey. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The first time I made these I thought they were wonderful. I love coconut and cherry mixed together. May try a batch with almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These are yummy. I used almost 3/4 cup cherries. as another reviewer suggested, I used almonds (did not have real cherries). Does anyone have an opinion, which is better- sour or sweet?? I rated it a 4 star- recipe did not state whether butter should be cold or soft, and it was not ready after baking 25 min. I baked it til golden brown with great results- a delicate, crispy layer on top-soft and chew in the middle. UPDATE: I tried it with fresh sweet cherries. The batter looked so wet-so I added 1/8-1/4 cup flour. A mistake! It came out too dense-like a heavy cake. Still a great recipe. Next time: It will be sour cherries- with no extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very good, but I had to cook them longer than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Different. Not too bad. Unsure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This has been a bar I've made for years. My husband has to have it every Christmas. I too double the recipe. I also bake the crust for a 20 minutes. I found it works well to lower the temperatue of the oven to 325 degrees during the last ten minutes of baking. Then the edges don't get so brown. compared to the outside edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This is much better with toasted slivered almonds instead of walnuts, and real cherries instead of maraschinos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Everyone enjoyed-nice to have something different to eat! Thanks for recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States