Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Wow, good old fashioned comfort dessert at its finest! And who would have ever thought something so down home good could be so easy and quick to throw together? Knowing I'm repeating many tips already suggested, this is what I found worked well: Add 1/4 tsp vanilla and a little cinnamon to the batter, bake in an 8" square pan or equivalent sized baking dish,cut butter down to 6 tablespoons, and sprinkle with sugar during the last 15 minutes of baking. Have fun with your favorite flavors of pie filling - all work well. Mmmmmmmmm, grandmas always were the best bakers, yours included, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very good and simple, but I'm giving it 4 stars because as written it would have been under a puddle of butter. 1/4 c. was plenty, and I added cinnamon to the batter. I have tried it with blueberry pie filling and cherry and they were both very good. Cut the sugar back to 3/4 c. and you will never miss it. I also baked in a round casserole dish instead of the 13x9" pan which would have been *very* thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
HOLY MELTED BUTTER BATMAN! I give this recipe five stars, but only if the following amendments are made. First, use a 4 or 6 quart round baking dish, not a 9x13 pan. Next, cut the amount of butter down to 1/4 of a cup or less. Using 1/4 of a cup of butter you will still get pools of melted butter on the top of the cobbler when you are done. No worries though! Simply spoon the butter onto the biscuits that have formed around the edges of the pan. Make these changes and I think you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made quite a few changes to this, following some of the others recommendations, and it still needed more work than what I did. It was a good starting point I guess, but if prepared as specified, I think I would have been VERY unhappy with the results. first, I halved the butter called for, and found it to still be too much. I cut back on the sugar and it was still a little too sweet (and I used fresh cherries so no added sugar there). Putting it in a 9x9 was absolutely necessary; it would have been pancake thin in a 9x13. I added a healthy dash of cinnamon and allspice to the batter and it was very nice; I think if I hadn't done this it would have been pretty bland. So... this recipe can be a success only if you follow everyone else's advice about it. as is, no way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I read everyone else's reviews and I took a little from each one. I used 2 tablespoons of butter, which (to me) was enough because the butter didn't gather in the middle. I also used 2 cups of cherries, but I think it could of used just a little more, maybe a half of a cup more. I didn't add more because I didn't have it at the time. Before I put it in the oven I sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon and a little bit of sugar on top, which made it taste great. I also put it in an 8X8 pan. If I decide to double it, it will go in a 13X9 pan. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed it. Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I, too, had this recipe handed down to me from my grandmother and mother, but I lost it when I moved a few years back. I was really thrilled to see it posted here. It is WONDERFUL when you substitute fresh peaches that have had sugar, butter and a lot of cinnamon added to it and heated to boiling. You pour that over the batter and it makes an almost lacy topping when it rises to the top. This is so delicious that a friend's son had me make this for almost 100 people for the dinner the groom's family hosts after they do the wedding rehersal. I can only say it was easy to make and when served in martini glasses with a dollop of whipped topping it was elegant as well as delicious. Everyone should try this recipe with their favorite fruit. The fruits and berries in the grocer's frozen food case makes this a sinfully simple dessert that is sure to be a sensation after any meal. I should say that peaches are the only fruit you add cinnamon to, with everything else I add a little vanilla to the fruit when I heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
HOLY BUTTER! I even cut two tablespoons out of the recipe, and it was overflowing with butter. After letting it cool, the butter soaked into the crust more, however it was still pretty greasy. The taste was ok--would have been better if the amount of butter was cut in half, or even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCHOOLNUTS
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Quick and easy to make. Plus, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. It is so easy and simple. The recipe is still delicous with the butter reduced, as others have recommended in their reviews. I have made it multiple times. It is also tastes great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I recently made this for a large gathering and while I didn't have any, it earned rave reviews from everyone there. Drawing from other reviews, I used 1/4 C of butter, and made it in an 8x8 pan. I made four, two with a can and a half of drained pie blackberries in each and two with a can and a half of drained pie cherries in each. I also sprinkled sugar on top while baking. Thanks for such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States