Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This recipe came out terrific for me, and better than the one I love from Ponderosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This is the one of the best cherry cobblers. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punkin Momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chandler, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Great simple recipe. I did lower the butter as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
HOLY MELTED BUTTER BATMAN! I give this recipe five stars, but only if the following amendments are made. First, use a 4 or 6 quart round baking dish, not a 9x13 pan. Next, cut the amount of butter down to 1/4 of a cup or less. Using 1/4 of a cup of butter you will still get pools of melted butter on the top of the cobbler when you are done. No worries though! Simply spoon the butter onto the biscuits that have formed around the edges of the pan. Make these changes and I think you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This recipe was great. So simple for a quick dessert. However, I did make a big change, instead of a 13x9 pan I used an 8 in square pan and as others did , I reduced the butter by 2 tablespoons (not cause I wanted to , but it was all the butter I had)I baked for 50 min and it came out beautiful. there was a bit of butter pooled in the center but I just spread it over the browned biscuit portion and none of it was a bit greasy. I will use it again and again for cobblers. I might even try doubling it for a 13x9 pan as I have a very large family . Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Very easy and Very good. I only used about 1/4 C of butter...maybe a little more (hard to tell, Switzerland doesn't have measurements on their butter wrappers so I just lopped off a chunk). I made it for the first time for company and used Blueberry Pie filling and served with a few small scoops of vanilla ice cream. I know Blueberry Pie filling is less sweet than others and I also think the vanilla ice cream helped tone down the sweetness and the buttery taste of the cobbler. Will definitely make it again. Glad I tried it. Even my husband, who doesn't care for "fruit" desserts, said it was very good! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Not a cobbler at all! More like cherry cookie bars. I used 3 cups frozen drained cherries and reduced the butter to 1/4 cup. All I had was a 10x14 pan, and it turned out about 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch thick, but I don't think that even if the pan had been smaller it would have had any chance of being a cobbler as I know it (but I'm from the south and maybe this is a yankee cobbler?). However, even though it's ugly (I wouldn't serve it to company due to lack of presentation qualities) and not a cobbler, it does taste good and was VERY simple and easy to make (great for kids and easy to please men). Also, it only took 30 minutes to bake, not the recommended 50-60 minutes, as it is, I burnt the edges a little (but it's still good, easy to please man says the burnt edges are GOOD, he likes the crunch). I may make it again just because it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
HOLY BUTTER! I even cut two tablespoons out of the recipe, and it was overflowing with butter. After letting it cool, the butter soaked into the crust more, however it was still pretty greasy. The taste was ok--would have been better if the amount of butter was cut in half, or even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I used drained, frozen cherries and added 1 tsp. vanilla to add flavour. For even more flavour I sprinkled the top with cinnamon before baking. I served it with vanilla ice cream and everyone thought it was delicious. It was an extremely fast and easy way to provide a homemade dessert for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This the fastest, easiest dessert! I couldn't believe a cobbler could be so easy and still taste Fantastic. My only suggestion is to reduce the butter by about 1 or 2 tablespoons. There was just a bit too much butter for me. I will be making this for a long time, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States