Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
this recipe was quick and easy and if you cut the butter down to 3T you don't get it pooling at the top. Tasted great with a scoop of ice cream. I've made it twice now for a quick desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very good and simple, but I'm giving it 4 stars because as written it would have been under a puddle of butter. 1/4 c. was plenty, and I added cinnamon to the batter. I have tried it with blueberry pie filling and cherry and they were both very good. Cut the sugar back to 3/4 c. and you will never miss it. I also baked in a round casserole dish instead of the 13x9" pan which would have been *very* thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made quite a few changes to this, following some of the others recommendations, and it still needed more work than what I did. It was a good starting point I guess, but if prepared as specified, I think I would have been VERY unhappy with the results. first, I halved the butter called for, and found it to still be too much. I cut back on the sugar and it was still a little too sweet (and I used fresh cherries so no added sugar there). Putting it in a 9x9 was absolutely necessary; it would have been pancake thin in a 9x13. I added a healthy dash of cinnamon and allspice to the batter and it was very nice; I think if I hadn't done this it would have been pretty bland. So... this recipe can be a success only if you follow everyone else's advice about it. as is, no way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. It is so easy and simple. The recipe is still delicous with the butter reduced, as others have recommended in their reviews. I have made it multiple times. It is also tastes great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was the easiest cobbler I ever made. I did use a round dish to bake it in and it turned out very pretty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I read everyone else's reviews and I took a little from each one. I used 2 tablespoons of butter, which (to me) was enough because the butter didn't gather in the middle. I also used 2 cups of cherries, but I think it could of used just a little more, maybe a half of a cup more. I didn't add more because I didn't have it at the time. Before I put it in the oven I sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon and a little bit of sugar on top, which made it taste great. I also put it in an 8X8 pan. If I decide to double it, it will go in a 13X9 pan. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed it. Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I recently made this for a large gathering and while I didn't have any, it earned rave reviews from everyone there. Drawing from other reviews, I used 1/4 C of butter, and made it in an 8x8 pan. I made four, two with a can and a half of drained pie blackberries in each and two with a can and a half of drained pie cherries in each. I also sprinkled sugar on top while baking. Thanks for such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was GREAT and my family is not big on cobblers,but WOW!!! I wish I would have taken the advice about using the round baking dish, I will next time for sure!! Great recipe, quick, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Very good, very simple. My husband loves it. I added about 1/4 tsp of vanilla and a few dashes of cinnamon to the batter to jazz it up a bit. Definitely serve this with with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
wow, this is so easy and it great but I did change the amount of butter from 1/2 to 1/4 cup, also I sprinkle sugar the let 15 mins of baking. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States