Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Easy to make and very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smokey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Simple enough for a beginner yet still a wonderful dessert for any crowd. A normal cherry pie recipe calls for 5 cups of cherries, with that in mind I would not use a 9x13 unless I added more cherries to the original recipe. I double the batter (except for the sugar which I felt 1 cup was enough) used 5 cups of cherries with 1 cup sugar added to them and used a 9x13 and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have recipe similar to this.but it is 1/4 butter melted in square glass dish and 3/4 c milk and 1 1/2 tsp baking power.baked at 400. It is good as peach cobbler also if you use 1 large can sliced peaches with 1/2 of the juice from can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
recipe was okay. unlike other reviewers, i did not have the problem of butter pooling on top. i used 2 cans of no-sugar-added cherry pie filling, but other than that, i made no changes. i probably should have doubled the topping too. none of these are taken to account in my review. it just wasnt quite good enough, but still pretty good and smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
After reading some other reviews, I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and was fine. Divided sugar and Splenda evenly. Added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to dry ingredients. Baked in an oval baking dish and turned out great. We loved it ! I topped my share with vanilla ice cream and my husband used whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSIEQ203
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This cobbler was pretty yummy! But I agree with some other reviewers that 1/4 cup butter is PLENTY and that the cake part of the cobbler was very thin. I think next time I would double the rest of the ingredients and still reduce butter. I baked mine in an 8x8 pan for 55mins. I also added a little vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. I had still had some pools of melted butter on top when I pulled it out of the oven. But I used it to soak the edges and corners. This wasn't AMAZING as some have put it, but it was definitely worth trying. I topped it with some French Vanilla Ice Cream while it was still hot and gooey from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very good. I've made this several times. The best way was doubling everything but the butter and pie filling. This made a much higher cake as it's too flat otherwise. It disappeared in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
The Recipe I keep coming back to. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Definitely use less butter. 1/4 cup would be fine. Less sugar is wise too - otherwise it is too sweet and I like sweet. And adding some vanilla and a bit (not much it is strong) almond would add some good flavor. Best to use a good quality brand of pie filling - otherwise it will taste kinda fast "foody." Sounds counter intuitive with all that butter but I would use pam with flour for the pan next time. Not my favorite cobbler but easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Made this for dessert on fathers day and it was very yummy! I reduced the butter, but I think next time I may use the amount stated in the recipe. I was able to tilt the pan and spread the melted puddled butter around the top once it was out of the oven and had cooled. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States