Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Thanks everyone for your input. I liked the amount of sugar in the topping, but reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup in the liquid and added another 1/4 cup of boiling water since my family likes more juice. I also baked it an additional 5 minutes. They devoured it in one sitting. They let me know this morning they'd like to try it next with peaches & blackberries. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was good! Other reviews suggested cutting the sugar, I wasn't sure if they meant the sugar in the dough or that you pour over so I cut both by half. So glad I did, it was still very sweet. I followed the recipe exactly besides, and baked in a deep dish pie plate. It wasn't too runny for me, but I did bake it for an extra ten minutes or so. I also used frozen cherries, a blend of sweet and tart. Thanks very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
After reading other reviews, I decreased the amount of sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup, but left it the same in the water mixture. I also had to make this dessert vegan and so substituted almond milk and coconut oil one-to-one for the milk and butter. It turned out perfectly. Slightly runny, delicious cherry filling on the bottom, and nicely browned crust on top. If you wanted you could probably use slightly less sugar in the water mix, but it was great as-is. I'll be repeating this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was a good recipe. It did end up being a bit runny, but it did not take away from the flavour. It just added to the cake. I added cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made this recipe for my Dad and he loved it! It's not too sweet and the orange juice adds an excellent flavor! I added a pinch of cinnamon and my Dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I loved it but I'm giving it four stars because I did reduce the sugar content per other reviews. I also didn't have a ton of cherries to use so I made a reduced recipe and used large silicone muffin tins so it turned into individual serving portions...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
We went and picked lots and lots of cherries! So, I needed a quick, easy and tasty recipe for a dessert. This fit the bill. I made it for the fourth of July and also made it again on the fifth for a dish to pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
After reading several reviews I modified the recipe by reducing the amount of sugar to almost half, reducing the water to 3/4 cup, increased the amount of cherries to 4 cups, used a mixture of whole wheat and self rising flour. It is still too sweet, but edible. It's the perfect texture, not too runny, and the crust is good. If I make this again I will reduce the amount of sugar to about 1/4 of what the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This can be made with Splenda to substitute for sugar without sacrificing the taste or texture. It was really good. I used cherries from a tree that had pretty tart cherries. It really was a great use for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZ735

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States