Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Tasted good, but I put too much sugar in mine by accident- big mistake, it was wayyyy to sweet! Also, mine required longer than 45 minutes as it was very doughy and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Made it tonight. Looked beautiful, until I tasted it. Sweet, sweet, sweet ! I knew it seemed like it had way to much sugar in it. I think the recipe needs to be adjusted. Was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Love this recipe. I used frozen cherries, used less water and sugar and a little more cornstarch. It turned out beautifully and was delicious. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Followed this recipe to a T and it ended up a puddle of mush after 45 minutes in oven. Had to drain it and cook another 30 minutes. Barely edible. Use a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great with cherries. However it is even better with blackberries. Took it to the neighborhood ice cream social... All raves and no left overs. I upped the amount of fruit a little and smashed half the blackberries. I would include a picture but the is none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Delicious! I always make a cherry dessert of some sort for my MIL for her birthday! I will have to look NO further! I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and the water to 3/4 for the liquid, according to some of the reviews. I used tart, frozen, Michigan cherries and baked it for 55 min and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pretty darn good! Simple, tasty and great looking. Definitely not grandmas, but with the simple ingredients and quick turnover, well worth it. I used less sugar in the syrup as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtshearer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Well, Ms. Mary Lehmann, you have a winner. I've never considered myself a baker. Now my husband wants your cobbler every week - I can vary the fruit, but the rest MUST stay the same. Success, at last. Thanks for making me look so good on my first try!! Really easy. Followed recipe except for corn starch - had none, so I spooned flour over the cherries and stirred until covered. Crust was beautifully brown. Cherries were tart, but with just the right sugary syrup. This was exactly what we wanted. Thanks again, Mary for such a great recipe. PS. I used a plastic straw to pit my fresh cherries. Took far less time than my "pitter" tool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup (just right for the sweetness) but still way too r unny. Needs more thickener, perhaps 1.5-2X the cornstarch depending on the type of cherries you use, otherwise decrease the water would make it better. You can actually drain the liquid out after baking (very messy!), add more corn starch to the liquid and pour it over the topping, but you'd have to rebake it all over again. I did just that and managed to salvage the dessert. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States