Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Delicious! I always make a cherry dessert of some sort for my MIL for her birthday! I will have to look NO further! I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and the water to 3/4 for the liquid, according to some of the reviews. I used tart, frozen, Michigan cherries and baked it for 55 min and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pretty darn good! Simple, tasty and great looking. Definitely not grandmas, but with the simple ingredients and quick turnover, well worth it. I used less sugar in the syrup as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtshearer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Well, Ms. Mary Lehmann, you have a winner. I've never considered myself a baker. Now my husband wants your cobbler every week - I can vary the fruit, but the rest MUST stay the same. Success, at last. Thanks for making me look so good on my first try!! Really easy. Followed recipe except for corn starch - had none, so I spooned flour over the cherries and stirred until covered. Crust was beautifully brown. Cherries were tart, but with just the right sugary syrup. This was exactly what we wanted. Thanks again, Mary for such a great recipe. PS. I used a plastic straw to pit my fresh cherries. Took far less time than my "pitter" tool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup (just right for the sweetness) but still way too runny. Needs more thickener, perhaps 1.5-2X the cornstarch depending on the type of cherries you use, otherwise decrease the water would make it better. You can actually drain the liquid out after baking (very messy!), add more corn starch to the liquid and pour it over the topping, but you'd have to rebake it all over again. I did just that and managed to salvage the dessert. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was pretty good for how few ingredients there are. Next time I might add more cherries and a bit of vanilla to the "cake" batter. I liked the simplicity of the process and the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Loved it!!! Since we did not know how to pit raw cherries, we covered them with water and brought them to a boil to soften and make it easier to pit. The water took on the flavor of the cherries so instead of using plain boiling water, we used the cherry juice. Cut back on the sugar by half because we had the sweet cherry juice. Really was a great way to use up our cherries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was awlful. I followed the recipe to a T. It came out runny and disgustingly sweet. Used some beautiful fresh cherries. It was sad to waste them. Even my husband you usually likes just about anything said he wouldn't eat it. So to the garbage disposal it was fed. Not sure how it got such good ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very good...tons of alterations reviewed so I had a hard time deciding what to do with the recipe. I usually decide to do exactly what the original recipe calls for the first time, but in this case (as I prefer to eat my cobblers with ice cream) I didn't want it to be terribly sweet. I cut the amount of sugar I mixed with the water to 3/4 cup. I used the same amount of water (1 cup), but I probably had closer to 4 cups of fresh cherries. I thought the sweetness and consistency turned out really nice. The dough topping is the best part though! Will definitely make again, as my daughter and husband both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We loved this recipe (our first cobbler). We used Rainer cherries, and cut the sugar to half in the pour over mixture (since they were not sour cherries) and the water to 3/4 of the recommended. Other than that, did not change a thing and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States