Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was pretty good for how few ingredients there are. Next time I might add more cherries and a bit of vanilla to the "cake" batter. I liked the simplicity of the process and the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Loved it!!! Since we did not know how to pit raw cherries, we covered them with water and brought them to a boil to soften and make it easier to pit. The water took on the flavor of the cherries so instead of using plain boiling water, we used the cherry juice. Cut back on the sugar by half because we had the sweet cherry juice. Really was a great way to use up our cherries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was awlful. I followed the recipe to a T. It came out runny and disgustingly sweet. Used some beautiful fresh cherries. It was sad to waste them. Even my husband you usually likes just about anything said he wouldn't eat it. So to the garbage disposal it was fed. Not sure how it got such good ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very good...tons of alterations reviewed so I had a hard time deciding what to do with the recipe. I usually decide to do exactly what the original recipe calls for the first time, but in this case (as I prefer to eat my cobblers with ice cream) I didn't want it to be terribly sweet. I cut the amount of sugar I mixed with the water to 3/4 cup. I used the same amount of water (1 cup), but I probably had closer to 4 cups of fresh cherries. I thought the sweetness and consistency turned out really nice. The dough topping is the best part though! Will definitely make again, as my daughter and husband both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We loved this recipe (our first cobbler). We used Rainer cherries, and cut the sugar to half in the pour over mixture (since they were not sour cherries) and the water to 3/4 of the recommended. Other than that, did not change a thing and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe saved me in a pinch with guests on short notice and lots of freshly picked cherries in my fridge. The flavor was very good, but it was quite "goopy". I agree with others who recommend toning down the amount of sugar in the sauce...1/2 cup was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Fantastic! I used a little less sugar in the slurry but just by ½ a cup. You could do more if you wanted but I think it lends itself to the overall product, making the crust crispy and sweeting up the cherries. This is particularly nice if you don't have sweet cherries as it is. The only time consuming part was the cherry pitting but I enjoyed myself and it looked like a crime scene in my kitchen, of course I was also working with beets simultaneously. This recipe is SUPER easy and I was able to put it together with out my husband even noticing. I was a true suzy homemaker last night - Prepared a fantastic dinner and followed it up with a warm dessert straight out of the oven. Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This recipe came out really good, even though I cheated/improvised and used a combination of cherry pie filling and blueberry pie filling. Very nice batter, not too gooey, not too cakey. Everyone was buzzing about it...probably buzzing because of all the sugar, considering I didn't cut the amounts even though i was using pie filling, but still...they loved it. Would place a photo here, but it didn't last long enough around the vultures that I was feeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was worried after reading all the mixed reviews. To alter the recipe or not? I decided not to, except maybe filling my measuring cups a tiny bit less with sugar. Yes, this was very sweet. Almost too sweet, but not sickeningly so. I served with homemade vanilla ice cream, and it was perfect. We did use fresh cherries. I recruited my 12 year old to pit the cherries and we found a great way..... with a drinking straw, only it was too flimsy, so I took apart a pen and used the barrel. It worked like a charm. I won't try to explain the procedure here. Google cherry pitting with straw. I didn't have a problem with my cobbler being runny after it cooled a bit. I would make this again and maybe if using sweet cherries, would cut back overall sugar by 1/4 - 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States