Cherry Chocolate Nut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this recipe recently for something a bit different. I wanted to use up some maraschino cherries to boot. They have a nice, light crisp on the outside and soft and cake-like on the inside. The semi-sweet chips are just right for this cookie and the chopped cherry bits are a nice blend. I chose to leave out the pecans for our personal taste. These cookies were a big hit and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love this recipe so much. I leave out the chocolate completely and add a little extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Renee Bartlome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Top Notch! We loved these! I did a twist to them though - I made them in a 5x11 pan as bars for 20 minutes and then after they cooled I melted 4 squares of semisweet chocolate in the microwave and then covered the top with it. After the chocolate cooled, I cut them into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I cut the recipe in half & they still turned out really good. And I even forgot the milk but didnt realize it till I was going to do the review. lol They were not too sweet or too hard & crunchy. The texture was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annastasiav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by EILEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Definately a Christmas cookie with all the chips,nuts and maraschino cherries...Very cake like...My children loved them...Not too sweet of a taste as well..I changed nothing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I had tons of maraschino cherries that i was dying to use and i came across this recipe and figured id try them out. The batter is kind of a runny peanut butter like consistency and has a pale pink color to it. When the cookie is baked, it is way to soft to even move, even after cooling. I tried to put them in for a longer bake time but then they just burned to a crisp on the bottom. The taste is alright but the presentation is awful. It has potential to be a great cookie but it certainly isn't as is. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Yummy. Made them just like the recipe states, except had to use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. It's a nice fluffy cookie. The cherry flavor isn't overpowering either. The hardest part is chopping the cherries. My food chopper pulverized them, so I had to resort to a knife. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEPUZZLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These cookies are really good!! I did tweak the recipe due to lactose intolerance--I used Crisco instead of butter and soy milk instead of cow's. (I would have switched out the chocolate chips with dairy free chocolate chips but didn't have enough on hand). Anyway, they are delectable. The kids love them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These cookies are great! They taste delicious and they're not too overpoweringly sugary from the maraschinos. Delicious with or without nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Yummy! I made it with sweet cherries since I had those on hand to use up and substituted egg beaters for eggs. The added bonus of that was I got to enjoy plenty of the dough, too! My mom and I loved these. I think I made them a bit thick because I ended up with 24, but they still baked through so no worries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States