Cherry Chocolate Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I did not like this one. It just doesn't turn out. Straight out of the oven, it tastes like undercooked gummy brownie batter on very tin can tasting cheeries. The 2 components dont really meld together. Also, do not make the mistake of accidentally buying the pie filling made with artificial sweetener. The cooked down taste of it is over-whelming. I was going to toss it and then decided to put it in the fridge uncovered to see if it would come together better. The next day, it seemed to turn into more of a black forrest brownie. The brownie like top thickened up and some of the cherry soaked into it. It became super sweet, but the flavor much improved. Either way, I could see this working much better with a reworked cake like topping and from scratch cherry pie filling. Just was really not for us. I might try to salvage the squares in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Erica Anderson Bradbury
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We followed the recipe as it was written. As soon as we mixed the dough together and saw how much there was, we thought, "We need more cherries" but we were too far in to go back for more than the 21 oz can we bought just for trying this cobbler. It tasted pretty good but left you craving more cherry filling to go with the amount of cobbler topping. The dough also seemed very brownie like. Not exactly but made us wonder how just brownie mix would do on top. We would make this again but get more cherry pie filling. Its hard to have too much cherry anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Anderson Bradbury
Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I'd use more cherries next time but we really liked it. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Outstandingly delicious and pretty simple to make. I also substituted blueberries & white chocolate chips on another occasion.Also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Absolutely simple but versatile recipe. I serve it for a fancy meal or just as a nice treat when I get home after a hard work day. I have also made variants with mint chips, white chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips. Also, switching the pie filling with raspberry, blueberry, peaches or apples makes a dessert just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is very easy but I would recommend using more cherries. I added some strawberries and served with vanilla strawberry swirl ice cream. I think the next time I will add strawberry pie filling instead. Just cuz im a strawberry girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was delicious. I used Ghirardelli chocolates which i believe made a big impact on the overall flavor. I would definitely recommend going for quality chocolate on this one. Also, i used one can of cherry pie filling (21 oz) in addition another 15oz frozen bag of black cherries. I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the frozen cherries with a little bit of corn starch, a splash of water, and almond extract. I also then poured the can of pie filling into the pan with the other cherries to make the flavor more uniform. I sprinkled sliced almonds over the top, and added some extra chocolate chips to the batter. I think overall it was amazing. Everyone at the dinner party i went to raved about it. I got comments like "Oh my gosh, this is gourmet!" and "I can't believe you made this!" The only thing i would do differently next time is to not add the extra chocolate chips to the batter. I think that it made it very rich, which i actually do love, but that it is yummy enough without them. I think that adding the extra cherries was imperative though, and made the dish perfect. It still fit in a 2-quart casserole dish. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was awesome! I too added two cans of cherries. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe and mine turned out very 'cakey' and not enough cherries. Next time I would use 2 cans of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Grandy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was a delicious hit. We served it with a bit of Cool Whip. I did use two cans of cherries, as I love cherry pie filling and wanted a lot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Faulkner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States