Cherry Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
What a wonderful, apparently neglected cookie recipe with only five reviews, the last nearly a year ago! This is really an appropriate cookie with fall around the corner. It’s substantial and hearty, packed with flavor and abundant with nuts, cherries and chocolate. I added nothing the recipe didn’t call for. I left out nothing the recipe was meant to include, and that was a good call. The recipe is perfect as written, WITH the cherries, WITH the nuts (if you tolerate them), both pecans and walnuts, and WITH the almond extract, which enhances the cherry flavor. Other than using the chocolate chips I had on hand rather than chocolate chunks, I didn’t and wouldn’t change a thing. However, watch your baking time carefully! I set my timer for the minimum of 11 minutes suggested, and while the cookies didn’t necessarily suffer for it, they still were a little browner than I would have liked. A minute or two less would have been just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent! I used butter because it gave a richer flavour, and because I didn't have cherries, I substituted dried cranberries which gave these cookies an amazing ZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
The combination of cherries and chocolate is classic and superb in these cookies! I had just returned from a trip to San Francisco and had some dark chocolate from Ghirardelli that I chopped and put in these cookies. I even added a bit of their vanilla bean white chocolate. Delicious! I had some dried cherries in the freezer, so I put them in a bowl with a splash of water, gave it a stir and microwaved until they were thawed. I baked a tray without nuts and two with. They were gobbled right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I loved these cookies, the cherries add such a nice contrast to the chocolate chunks. I typically leave out nuts from cookie recipes, but I added them here and they were wonderful. I baked mine about a minute less to keep them soft and I substituted white whole wheat flour for half the flout listed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I use this recipe as my base for a variety of cookies. the only substitution I make in the base recipe is coconut oil instead of shortening. The other changes I make are I use dark chocolate chips with cherries and almonds, semi sweet chips with blue berries and walnuts, and then coconut with milk chocolate chips and pecans. My husband says he never feels guilty eating any of them because of all the antioxidents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
There are so many things to love about this cookie. First, the combination of the tart cherries with the chocolate is out of this world. I only used pecans, and the added flavor and crunch was perfect. Lastly, the addition of the almond flavoring sent this cookie over the top. Since I don't always have dried cherries in the house, I will be tempted to try this with dried cranberries, which I suspect will be equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I would just like to say how absolutely wonderful these cookies are. Every one single person who has had some, and ive made them a lot, loves them. I do substitute dried cranberries for the cherries, and I dont add the almond extract or the walnuts. I have never added cocoa, only because they are so good the way they are, i would hate to do something different and have them come out bad..lol...thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I did make them, and added a bit of cocoa myself and they are DElish!!! I didn't put the chocolate kisses on top either, but rather added a handful of mini chocolate chips. The cherries MAKE this cookie very different, but we LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This my favorite cookie recipe. I feel the combination of the butter and the shortening gives the cookie a great thickness. I have omitted the nuts because the people in my family does not like nuts in their cookies. But i have used the tart cherries along with a variety of other dried fruits such as dried cranberries. the tart cherry is my favorite thought. You have a recommendation of the SaCo chocolate chunk and i want to say thank you because i believe that is a very delicious chocolate chunk compared to its competitors. Great cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rmlc15
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Within minutes of these cookies cooling off they were being grabbed and eaten! The texture is lovely and flavor delish! I subsitituted the walnuts/pecans for almond slices. The taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States