Cherry Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Micki
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made it for husband's birthday. I loved it. mmhhhmmm chocolate heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
made this for a work pot luck and it was a BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is a very good cake. I baked it in two round pans for 30 minutes for a two-layer cake. I used vanilla icing (from a can), which made a pretty cake that would work well as a birthday cake. I was a bit disappointed that the cherries get lost in the chocolate flavor and don't stand out, but it's still a delicious, moist cake that was very easy to make. I'll be keeping this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is my favorite cake! I do use the dark chocolate cake mix and canned cherries on top. I put just a small amount of the canned cherry juice into the mix to make it extra moist. I love to put this cake on my cake plate because it's just so darn pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
'Made with Eric's favorite chocolate cake increasing cocoa to 1/3 cup, reduced sugar to 1 3/4c, added one additional egg & 1t almond extract. Put in a 9.5x13.5 & it took 45 minutes at 350. A little low. Try 9x13 if I make again. Gently folded in the 20 oz 20percentmore cherries cherry pie filling. It cuts beautifully. 'Think I'll reduce the water or butter/shortening by a quarter or third cup. 'Not gooey or crazymoist, but would be better with less. For topping: 8oz cream cheese (whipped fluffy) then added 1/2c (or 1/4c?) sugar. Folded in 8oz? storebrand cool whip & a little maraschino cherry juice. 'Not quite enough for that size pan - or whip the cream cheese longer (before folding in cool whip). Next time: Two cans pie filling, 1/2c less butter/shortening, hot coffee for water & same other changes as first sentence. A bundt pan & maybe a thicker cake batter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This cake is phenomenal! I followed the recipe exactly, except I iced the cake with cream cheese icing. It was moist and delicious. My husband loved it too. It kept nicely in the refrigerator, and the two of us ate the entire thing over the course of a week. If you're not an icing fan, it's really sweet enough that it doesn't need it. We thought the cream cheese icing really complemented the flavor though. I'm getting ready to make another one right now to take to my in-laws. This is going to be my new go-to recipe for making a dessert for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Quick, incredibly moist, and reliably good. My base was a Duncan Hines Devil's Food cake mix. I modified with 1T cocoa, 3 eggs, 1/3 C oil, 1t. almond extract, and flour to adjust for high altitude ( I am at >5000 ft). No water added - pie filling takes care of it. BTW, I frosted useing about 1/3 can of Duncan Hines Dark Choc. frosting. Bundt pan at 350 for 35 min. using convection. LOVE this cake. I made 2 in one week and have requests for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good! topped with Hershey's chocolate buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
made this as written, except used sugar free canned frosting for ease and no sugar added cherry filling. Topped each peice with a little frosting, whipped cream, cherries and slivered almonds. Was very rich and moist, without being too sweet. Hubby like this for his b day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I went the shortcut way, with the box mix of Chocolate Fudge cake. I also added a shot of cherry rum as suggest by someone else. It was a good chocolate cake with cherries... it just wasn't phenomenal. I used the chocolate ganache recipe on this website to top it, and that worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States