Cherry Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Very good cake. I make this same cake using a boxed devils food cake mix, 1 tsp. almond extract, 2 eggs and a can of cherry pie filling. It's basically the same recipe only faster. I put it in a oiled bundt pan and bake it for approx. 30 minutes. The glaze is made of 5 tablespoons of butter, 1/3 cup milk and 1 cup white sugar mix and bring to boil for 2 minutes, remove from heat and add 1 cup chocolate chips....put on the cooled cake and garnish with halves of maraschino cherries. Wonderful easy version of this same cake. It can also be made in a 9x13" pan (which I spray with cooking oil with flour)....Both the recipe submitted and the easier version is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This cake is quite good. There's a similar recipe on this site that uses cake mix, and I liked this one much better! Make a good, chocolatey frosting and it's rich and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a big hit with my family. I'm not a cake aficionado, so I really made this cake for my wife. She was very impressed and said it was "great." I used Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting from the allrecipes website and it was a good choice. If you are a beginner to cake making as I am, this may help you: In step #4, the recipe mentions serving the cake with chocolate buttercream frosting. That could be interpreted to mean the "frosting" that is made in step #2, because it could certainly pass for frosting. After realizing that the dry ingredients wouldn't work without the butter mixture in step two, it all came together in my mind, but it did give me pause. Even I, the non-cake fan, have already had three pieces. Between three of us, there's only about 25% of the cake left even though it was finished less than 12 hours ago. The combination of cherries and chocolate is genius. This cake is as moist as cakes come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
amazing! i even used light pie filling, egg substitute, and light margarine and my dad and i finished it in one night and declared it the best cake ever! You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
What a great cake! I have to tell you, though, that I cheated. I used a dark chocolate boxed cake mix and canned cherry pie filling. I also iced it with chocolate flavored whipped topping instead of regular icing. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made this cake and added a shot glass of cherry liquor for a little jolt...and also added the cherry liquor to a whipped topping instead of choc. icing....It was really good...I got a lot of compliments on such an easy recipe....Thanks Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zombified
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Easy, delicious, and it does keep well! My husband loves this in cupcake form!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I expected a lot more of this cake. The taste was quite ordinary and I'm not sure I liked the cherries "popping" up while I was eating the cake. I made it in two 9 inch round shapes but I had to bake it a lot longer than the suggested time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Not bad, though I was expecting it to be better with that rating. I might make it again but defintely not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I tried this recipe and my husband liked it but my kids and I werent too crazy about it.The cherry pie filling seems to water down the taste of the chocolate and it didnt really seem as moist as it did wet.I like to really taste the chocolate and I didnt with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States