Cherry Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
What a great cake! I have to tell you, though, that I cheated. I used a dark chocolate boxed cake mix and canned cherry pie filling. I also iced it with chocolate flavored whipped topping instead of regular icing. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was very good and well received, but I cheated and used the devils food cake mix and chocolate glaze as described by another reviewer. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Very good cake. I make this same cake using a boxed devils food cake mix, 1 tsp. almond extract, 2 eggs and a can of cherry pie filling. It's basically the same recipe only faster. I put it in a oiled bundt pan and bake it for approx. 30 minutes. The glaze is made of 5 tablespoons of butter, 1/3 cup milk and 1 cup white sugar mix and bring to boil for 2 minutes, remove from heat and add 1 cup chocolate chips....put on the cooled cake and garnish with halves of maraschino cherries. Wonderful easy version of this same cake. It can also be made in a 9x13" pan (which I spray with cooking oil with flour)....Both the recipe submitted and the easier version is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
a perfect cake. we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Not bad, though I was expecting it to be better with that rating. I might make it again but defintely not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this cake and everyone loved it. I thought the can of cherry pie filling would be to much, but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I made this cake two times, one for a birthday and the other for a Christmas party. The first time I made it a two layer in square pans, and the second time a two layer in 8" round pans. The square pans seemed to work better although the corners were dry. Most seemed to like it. A friend asked me to make it for her birthday. I used a low calorie pie filling (artificial sweetener)both times so I wonder how it effects the cake. I frosted it with Chocolate Buttercream and the combination of flavors (cherry, chocolate and vanilla) are quite enticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Excellent cake! I made this for Christmas dinner and it got rave reviews. Moist and delicious with chocolate fudge buttercreme icing on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This cake is the best!! I've made it several times and it is always a hit. I do bake it in a bundt and top it with a chocolate glaze. Also, I place mini chocolate chips in the batter....about 1/2-1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Wow! My husband loves chocolate-cherry flavor, so I tried this for Father's Day - he (and I) totally loved it! Used 2 oz unsweeted chocolate, as I was out of cocoa; creamed the butter/sugar 5 mins on my Kitchenaide mixer to incorporate air; and used cake flour as suggested in recipe. Cake came out very light, moist and delicious. Frosted with chocolate buttercream (3 cup pdr sugar, 1/4 c. milk, 3/4 tsp vanilla, 3 Tb butter). Baked 35 mins at 350, 9x13 pan. Definitely recommend to chocolate-cherry lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States