Cherry Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This cake was delicious, very dense and moist. I cut the ingredients in half (using a 12 oz. can of cherry filling, instead of cherry *pie* filling) and baked it in an 8" square pan for about 28 minutes. I made a chocolate glaze to put on top, but I think I'd prefer the cake plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This cake was easy to make but was very ordinary. Tasted very much like a boxed cake with cherries thrown in. Sorry, but for us this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and I'm not sure you have the correct quantity for a normal cake pan. My cake rose above the edges, still wet mind you and overflowed onto the bottom of the oven. Smoke is everywhere. I consider myself a pretty good cook, and I would advise that if anyone is unsure of the quantity of cake to their cake pan please use a cup cake pan or muffin pan. I had to take it out of the oven, the whole kitchen full of smoke and the edges cooked perfect and the whole middle of the cake still uncooked. Taste is also a little bland for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
tastes very good and easy to make. we had it for dessert at easter dinner - my sister in law thought it was too rich - she would like to suggest making it with less cocoa and more cherries, but her boyfriend liked it just the way it was :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Excellant cake, very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a big hit with my family. I'm not a cake aficionado, so I really made this cake for my wife. She was very impressed and said it was "great." I used Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting from the allrecipes website and it was a good choice. If you are a beginner to cake making as I am, this may help you: In step #4, the recipe mentions serving the cake with chocolate buttercream frosting. That could be interpreted to mean the "frosting" that is made in step #2, because it could certainly pass for frosting. After realizing that the dry ingredients wouldn't work without the butter mixture in step two, it all came together in my mind, but it did give me pause. Even I, the non-cake fan, have already had three pieces. Between three of us, there's only about 25% of the cake left even though it was finished less than 12 hours ago. The combination of cherries and chocolate is genius. This cake is as moist as cakes come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Soooo yummy! I used the pie filling with extra fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This cake was easy to make and got rave reviews. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This recipe was really good. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This recipe combines all of my favorite flavors so I had to try it . . . glad I did! It was incredibly moist and went great with coffee in the morning. I did not put icing on the cake, I used regular flour instead of cake flour and baked it for about 45 minutes. It's so easy to make from scratch, no need to use the Devil's Food Cake shortcut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States