Cherry Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I went the shortcut way, with the box mix of Chocolate Fudge cake. I also added a shot of cherry rum as suggest by someone else. It was a good chocolate cake with cherries... it just wasn't phenomenal. I used the chocolate ganache recipe on this website to top it, and that worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Wonderfully rich, and easy to prepare! I've made this twice now, and have always received compliments. This is the closest recipe I have found to compare to the taste of Betty Crocker's chocolate-cherry cake mix, from back in the early sixties. Sorry Betty, but I think I like this recipe even better---:-) One comment I will make is that the cake took closer to 40 minutes to bake in my oven. I did frost it with the chocolate buttercream frosting recipe I have, and this makes the dessert doubly rich! Thanks, Ginger, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a great cake. I have made the cake mix version of this cake several times over the years, but tired of it. I decided to try this, as I can control the amount of sugar in it, and wow, it is noticeably better! I used no-added sugar pie filling, reduced the sugar in the cake to 1C. Rather than using butter cream icing, I used a thick chocolate glaze made from bittersweet chocolate chips - it was delicious, and keeps well, just as the author says. I highly recommend this cake with a glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
If you like moist cakes, this is a good one to try. I used unsweetened pie filling and the cake was still sweet enough. I think next time I'd maybe add more almond flavoring. I didn't have cherry flavoring to add, but that might be good too. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I was expecting this to be very tasty recipe based on the other reviews. I'm rating it with one star in an attemt to counter all the five star ratings. It was just OK. Nothing special. Sure it was moist, but all cake should be moist. I was expecting either the chocolate flavor to stand out or the cherry...neither did. I even used 1/2 dark cocoa 1/2 regular to make it more chocolately, but this recipe seems lacking. Maybe adding liquer like another reviewer mentioned. I was expecting a "lava cake" consistency with a rich chocolate taste. This didn't come close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this for my son's fourth birthday as a volcano cake. I subbed vanilla for the almond extract (because I had almond in the frosting and didn't want it to overpower) and used at least half dark cocoa powder for a richer chocolate taste. It was very moist and fluffy, especially for a scratch cake! I was very pleased and so was the birthday boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsweetsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I've made this cake once- and it was, to say the least, absolutely amazing. Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE loved it. I had to bake it for a little bit longer then called for, but other then that, if you follow the directions exactly, you will have- in the end- and amazing and loved cake. I made a double batch which, in the end, made three layers. The cake was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I made large cupcakes and topped them with an almond butter cream frosting and a fresh cherry. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is one of my very favorites. It's delicious but super-easy, and since it does involve more work than a dump cake, you can make it for special occasions without feeling like you're cheating. ;) One thing I've learned, though: you can't make it with a frosting that's too chocolatey, or it overpowers the cherry taste, and instead of a cherry chocolate cake you have a chocolate-cake-and-oh-yeah-cherries-I-guess. As delicious as this site's chocolate fudge buttercream is, give it a pass for this one. Otherwise, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaythecook
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
YUMMY. I am not a big cake eater, but I definitley liked this one. I don't think the cake was too moist as other's have commented. I think it was near perfect with the added pie filling. I topped it with the cream cheese/brown sugar icing found from the Chocolate Torte recipe elsewhere on this site and then topped that with maraschino cherries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaythecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States